Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re-install apps as user ?

    New to Win2K - have installed internet, network, email server, connection sharing, etc, etc whilst logged in as administrator. Will everything still be accessible to my SuperUser ? Or will I have to re-install everything again ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    If these are listed in the 'All Users' folder they can be used by all users.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    Thanks I'll have a look...it's just that I noticed (very late) last night that when I logged in as a SuperUser some stuff wasn't there...I haven't had a real chance to check it out thoroughly yet - I'm having to learn Win2K. I don't really want to leave that machine with the administrator logged on, even though no-one else has access. I'd like to leave it setup so that all the apps work but nothing can be changed or installed.
    Incidentally, anyone got any thoughts on Norton Ghost to image my disk once I have it all working...?

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    ghost will work - i personally use disk image - but others who use ghost swear by it.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    I have since found that my satellite card (for Internet) won't work, despite being listed for all users). This also knocks out WorkGroupMail which can't see a connection. And my dial connections have the wrong user name and won't connect. I can't be bothered to re-do it all again (yet).
    Hey. How do I get data from an NTFS volume if I can't get Windows going at all, even in safe mode ? (curious, in case I ever need to. Actually I might re-do the install and set up a FAT32 partition for data...hmmm)

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    the ONLY way to read a NTFS partition from a dos prompt or 98 is with a third party utility. NTFSDOS. the free version lets you read and copy from. the pay version does read and write.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Re-install apps as user ?

    MS recommend you re-install winnt/win2000 into another directory and access the old files or installation from there. Personally I carry an old 540 Mb hard drive with a basic winnt installation, install that onto the affected pc and access the NTFS partition from there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •