Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: 'Read-Only'

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    'Read-Only'

    I cannot change the 'read-only' attribute on a CD-RW disc. In another word processor, (WP), it isn't a problem, only in the Word version. Any ideas?
    I put my book, "This Side of Heaven" into Word and copied it to the CD.
    TIA,
    Charlie

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Your document is probably created in WordPerfect Document format. Let your version of Microsoft Word create its own copy of the document (File | Save As). For your information: too many document formats use the same .doc extension: WordPerfect (different versions), Word for Windows 2.0, Microsoft Word 5.0, Microsoft Word 6.0, Word 97/2003... More is coming.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Hi,
    Thanks for the rapid reply.
    I discovered I could make the changes/corrections on the floppy and add it to the CD. It asked me if I wanted to replace the existing file with the corrected one and I said "Yes".
    That solved the problem although I still have to find out why all files added to the CD-RW end up as "Read-only" and am not able to correct or even delete it. sigh.
    It's not a Word problem I guess. I could keep it as a WP file, but with Word coming out on most machines, ... sigh again. <img src=/S/barf.gif border=0 alt=barf width=64 height=23> <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>
    Back to the drawing board.
    Charlie

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Treating the CD-RW drive or media as though it is a less capable CD-R drive or disc might be a compatibility setting that is determined in the software you use to burn the disc. Or maybe not, if only Word does it...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    No, I didn't say it correctly, as WP does it too.
    What I meant to say was that I've made WP files on CDs that I could correct. (On a machine w/o Win XP) Now, with my new HP machine, I discover, I can't do it again. I suspect it has something to do with the configuration of Windows XP. I'm going to try to dig into it a lil more.
    I put my book on floppies and found that too many new computers don't have that drive so transferred the book onto CDs. That's when I found a mistake, tried to correct it and discovered that it can't be done. (Read only)(
    I did find the above mentioned work-around though, but the files on the CD remain 'Read Only'. Nobody seems to know how to change the attribute and I'm having a heck of a time understanding India/English when I use my HP support.
    sigh
    Charlie

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    "On a machine w/o Win XP" what is the OS of this machine?
    As I do NOT remember that with earlier versions of Windows if this was possible either.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Dave,
    I'm speaking of CD-RW's, not CD-R's.
    I could modify the book/files on my RW's. This computer is Win XP. That machine was Win98, a Gateway.
    Oh, wait! Do you mean it might not have been possible to change the CD's Read-Only attribute on other OS's? I don't believe the file/book back then was created as Read-Only originally, but I don't recall how I made sure it wasn't.
    Just about the time a fellow thinks he's got the hang of this computer thing, they change the program/OS.
    sigh

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Do you know in which FILE SYSTEM your CD-RW was formatted? Was it ISO9660, JOLIET or UDF? Do you use the same program (Roxio DirectCD, Nero InCD) to access UDF-formatted CD-RW ?

    If your CD-RW was formatted in ISO9660 (JOLIET), I would recommend to copy all content from CD-RW to your hard drive, make changes to the files (as editing documents), then erase CD-RW and burn the content once again, rather than override particular files.

    If your CD-RW was formatted in UDF (any version) and you do not use the same program to access it anymore, erasing and reformatting is the only way to change its content.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Oh Boy! I used Roxio Direct CD on my Gateway and when it gave up the ghost I (read; my wife) purchased the HP Pavilion.
    When I start up the HP I get a message saying something like,
    "Direct CD causes Windows XT to be unstable. Its drivers have been disabled."
    They show me a link to patch it to work and when I go to it I find it will cost 69.00 to buy. ... argh!!
    I will try to erase and reformat with whatever the program is that I have on this machine. (I don't know what it is except that it comes with Win XP.)
    Charlie
    PS. The selling factor for this computer was that it came with WP12. I have 4 other versions and have loved it for the past 16 years. Ya gotta love that "Reveal Codes"!!!
    On Edit:
    Judas Priest! I can't figure out which program I can use to reformat my CD's. The older I get, the denser my gray cells get!! I'll keep trying.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Now answer to your original question is clear.

    You cannot change "read-only" behavior of your CD-RW unless you install Windows XP-compatible version of Roxio Media Creator (or Nero Ultra Edition).
    Your question is not about word processors, so it is belong to "Software Finds and Wants" forum, not "General MS Office" forum.

    Windows XP bulit-in CD-burning capabilities are very limited. To learn more about it, see
    Windows XP CD Burning Secrets

    Consider to acquire third-party CD-burning program.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Hi and thanks again,
    I checked on the "patch" and find it is now 79.95 after 20.00 upgrade mail in rebate. ... sigh.
    I think I'm going to have to use the work-around instead of shelling out 100.00 for the cure. Sheesh! A brand new computer with a built-in problem??
    I'm going to live with it, I guess.
    Thanks again. You've all been great.
    Charlie

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Depends on the file system used to record the optical media.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Read-Only'

    Hi,
    Boy! What a great bunch of helpers! If I was a confirmed "Wordie" I'd be addicted to this site. Being a WP fanatic though, I use the wpuniverse.com site.
    I solved my problem by using HP support.. I had to delete what I had and download a new program with "DLA" in it.
    Step 3 in the procedure said, "Right-click the name of recordable drive, make sure that 'Use with DLA' is selected, and then click Format. "
    (I spent the next 11 hours reformatting my CD-RW's.) sigh.
    Thank you, all of you, for your many helpful ideas. I'm grateful!
    Charlie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •