Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Direct Connect

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Direct Connect

    I've set up a Direct Connect between two PC's. The OldPC runs as a host using Win98. The NewPC runs as a guest using Windows Media Center. The Network Connections shows that the NewPC is connected to the OldPC and I can ping it using the IP address successfully. On the NewPC in DOS I type ftp OldPC and I get the error message Unknown host OldPC. I get the same error using the IP address. I don't know what to try next. Anyone have any ideas?
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct Connect

    You'd need an FTP server running on the Win98 box to be able to connect in this fashion. The NewPC is trying to look up the host or IP address and open the FTP port, which doesn't exist - hence your error message.

    You can map a network drive, either in Explorer or through the command line, and share files that way. In fact, it would probably work better than FTP anyway. What exactly are you trying to accomplish between the two machines?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Direct Connect

    Hi Mark,

    Thanks for the post back. I'm trying to copy large files from the OldPC to the NewPC and then get rid of the OldPC.

    I forgot about needing an FTP server. However, I'll try to map a network drive to it and see what happens. If it works, I can then copy it to the NewPC. For some reason I thought FTP was the only method that would work. Never used Direct Connect before. I'll post back and let you know what happened. Thanks.
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct Connect

    Your other option, would be to take the HD from the Old PC, and (for a short time) install it in the New PC.

    If you felt like having more space on the New PC, you could leave the Old HD in there afterwards. Of course, this wouldn't work if you have plans to use the Old PC in another capacity as something other than a foot rest <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Direct Connect

    Hi Mark,

    After creating a shared drive on the OldPC with the share name "edrive" with full rights I tried to map it from the NewPC in windows explorer. I entered in OldPCedrive as the path and it came back with the message "The network path OldPCedrive could not be found."

    When I do ipconfig I see "PPP adapter OldPC:" and it shows the ip address. I can ping it by ip address but when I ping it by name (OldPC) I get the message "Ping request could not find host OldPC. Please check the name and try again." Both ipconfing and My Nework Places shows OldPC as the name. I hope that's a clue to someone.

    I guess another approach is creating an ftp server on the OldPC. Is that easy to do? I'll try a search on this board and see if anything comes up.
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Direct Connect

    Chris, thanks for the other option of installing it on the NewPC. I did think about it except I'm not that knowledgable under the hood about how to make it connect to the NewPC. But I will leave that as a very last resort.
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Direct Connect

    Try replacing 'OldPC' with the IPAddress in the mapping. example : 10.10.10.3share_name
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger Omega3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Direct Connect

    Mark and Chris,

    Just a follow up on this problem. I finally got everything to work right. It turned out to be a Zone Alarm problem. On the OldPC it didn't have a Zone Alarm icon in the system tray so I didn't think anything of it. Then I decide to uninstall it completely since it won't be needed anyway. When I did that ZA recognized that I was trying to uninstall it and popped up a message box to that affect. So it had to have been running in the background. I then went back to the NewPC. I was able to create a network drive and copy the files over.

    Thanks for all your suggestions.
    You know it's time to diet when you push away from the table and the table moves.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •