Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    W2k Pro installation issues

    I just did a clean install of W2k and seemed to run into an issue which others have come across also, according to my search on Google. The problem is basically that there were about 30 +/- files, mostly ".cls" and ".rmi" type which couldn't be copied from the installation CD during the installation and of which I chose "Skip" when prompted after trying the "Retry" and "Browse" options.

    The system is functioning without any problems so far. But I still want to know about these files:

    1) Are they REALLY needed?
    2) Where can I get them, IF they aren't actually on the CD? If they are, why the problem copying to the HDD?
    3) And where do they all go?

    Some examples are: appser~1.cls, bachsb~1.rmi, beetho~2.rmi, hallof~2.rmi, securi~1.cls, isecur~1.cls, iobject~1.cls, shared~1.cls.... et al.

    There were lots of "chatter" to be found, but no one actually provided any information concerning my 3 questions above. So, my hope is that the more knowledgeable members here can answer them and help me out. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    On another less problematic note........ on startup there are 2 options, "Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" and "Microsoft Windows"??? Since I am not familiar with W2k I'm wondering why these 2 options and what they are? I have obviously chose the first one when rebooting, hehe.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    You could have a bad CD. It does happen more than you think. The last item you mentioned bothers me more. You should not have to choose. It sounds like an install repairing itself issue not a good clean format and install. Try copying the entire CD to a folder on another drive or partition and do your install from there.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    <hr>On another less problematic note........ on startup there are 2 options, "Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" and "Microsoft Windows"??? Since I am not familiar with W2k I'm wondering why these 2 options and what they are? I have obviously chose the first one when rebooting, hehe.<hr>
    These probably do exactly the same, and you can remove the duplicate entry from BOOT.INI. We need to see the contents of your boot.ini file be sure. This is a hidden system file in the root folder on C:, can you locate it and post the contents here.

    StuartR

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Stuart,

    Here's the contents of the "boot.ini" file as requested:

    <hr>[boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINNT="Microsof t Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
    C:="Microsoft Windows" <hr>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    The line
    <code>C:="Microsoft Windows" </code>
    is the one to remove.

    Did you used to have some other version of windows that you upgraded?

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Your question states that you are trying to perform "clean install". "Clean install" usually means that you booted your computer from Windows 2000 Installation CD (or special four floppies set pointing to CD), then during installation process chose to destroy all existing partitions (or at least system partition) and create a new one(s).

    However, if Windows Setup prompts you to reinstall additional programs or files, that means Setup found them installed already and needed the source to reinstall them. ( .rmi files are RealPlayer music files; .cls files are VB or C++ class files; ~1 is filename replacement for long filename in 8.3 format - all of it IS NOT a part of "clean" installation.)

    If you are performing the upgrade of previous Windows installation, make sure that all your installation programs are available. If you are trying to install dual-boot system, it is better to install Windows 2000 to a different partition.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Sorry, but that is NOT what I wrote... here's my exact words: "I just did a clean install of W2k...", which entailed booting with a Boot Disk, performing "fdisk" and then formating the drive before installing the new O/S. It was during the actually installation of W2k when it copies over the files (still in DOS) that those errors appeared. This particular situation is evidently quite common, at least that's the impression I got from doing a search on Google.

    So, to iterate.... this was a "Clean Install" and not an upgrade on a newly formatted drive on a single primary partition. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Stuart,

    Thanks... I'll make a backup copy of the boot.ini file and remove "C:=Microsoft Windows" and give it a shot.

    And no... this was NOT an "upgrade". The system WAS running Win ME but as I explained elsewhere, I ran fdisk and reformatted the drive thus doing a super clean install.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    This is very strange, because your BOOT.INI appears to have been set up to dual boot Windows 2000 and DOS. Here is a guess of how you could have created this BOOT.INI

    Did you create a bootable Windows 98 Floppy disk, use that to FDISK and Format the C: drive, making it bootable, then boot DOS from the C: drive and used that to access the Windows 2000 CD to do the installation.

    If not this exact sequence then something similar must have taken place to create the BOOT.INI you have shown us.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Stuart,

    Yep..... that's a very close guess. When I first tried to run fdisk and format the drive I used a Win ME boot disk.... failed miserably 6 times. Then I Googled around and found that this is a known issue; even Microsoft had a KB article on it. The resolution was to use either a Win 95 or 98 boot disk to format the drive, which obviously worked. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>

    This was my first clean install of W2k for someone. Everything in the past, and there have been many have been clean installs of Win 98, ME or XP. The system is running 99% good. I have had a couple of "glitches", e.g., I can't install Acrobat Reader 7 for some reason...... gonna check to see if there is a special version for W2k. And Diskeeper 10 works, but on a manual defrag, I get an error: "Diskeeper failed to create the immediate context file." After I click "OK" it continues with the defrag. I got the error a total of 3 times during the process. Other than a strange temporary "stall" when emptying the Recycle Bin, these are the only things out of the norm. It sure ain't Win XP but it's much better than Win ME. <img src=/S/RollEyes.gif border=0 alt=RollEyes width=19 height=19>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    For future reference, the best way to prepare your disk for installing Windows is to boot the CD and use the installation programme. That way you don't end up with this DOS operating system that it now offers as a boot option.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Stuart,

    Well, I've been able to do that with previous clean installs of Win 98, ME and XP. But for some reason the silly thing wouldn't boot with the CD after I ran fdisk and formatted the drive. That's why I ended up doing what I did, which actuallly was "by the book" according to Paul Thurrott's article. However, it seems that there is yet another and allegedly better way which I could have done this clean install and that is by using the supplied "Boot Disk" set found in the /bootdisk folder of the CD. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> Whatcha think?
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    I dunno about "better", the BOOTDISK program is simply a floppy-disk version of what's already on the bootable Windows CD itself. I'd use that only as a last resort because it is far slooooooooooower than booting from the CD.
    -Mark

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    Mark,

    Nice to hear from you. It's been awhile. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Well, all I can tell you is that booting with the installation CD didn't work. After I ran fdisk and then formatted the drive I did try booting with the CD and nada. So, again, following Paul Thurrott's tutorial, I booted with the Win 98 boot disk, changed to the i386 directory and ran "setup.exe". This then began transferring files from the CD to the HDD in DOS and everything else fell into place. I only thought that by using the floppy disk version which I got from the CD itself would have made things easier; perhaps not?? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> It would appear that W2k is a totally different animal than either Win 98 or XP. Installing either of those O/S I have always booted with the installation CD after formatting the drive using a Win 98 boot disk. As I mentioned before, this was my first experience doing a clean install with W2k, so ignorance on my part prevailed. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2k Pro installation issues

    <hr>I only thought that by using the floppy disk version which I got from the CD itself would have made things easier; perhaps not??<hr>
    Six of one, half dozen of the other... it's slower, that much I know. It's really there for systems that do not support booting from CD... which would definitely be you. Why you couldn't boot from the CD is another story, perhaps the drive itself is not up to snuff.

    As for it being a different animal, that comparison is true when applied to Windows 9x - but XP is built on the Win2000 code base, and the installation routine is almost identical. It differs mainly in the included drivers.

    All of it's moot, really... since you got it up and running in the end. And isn't that what matters most? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •