Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    Frequently, though not predictably, when I open an existing Word file and run a search, by default it looks for underlined words. I have to click the No Formatting button. Subsequent searches work fine. I'm certain it's not remembering the settings from my last search, since I can't remember the last time I searched for underlined words on purpose. I can't repeat the behavior at will, but it happens several times a week. I tried deleting normal.dot but that didn't fix it. It happens in lots of documents, old and new. Any ideas?

    Robert

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    Is it possible that you have a Macro that is using this search?

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    I don't think so. I've only saved one macro. It doesn't run automatically, and it doesn't have this effect when run (which it seldom is).

    Robert

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    I'm a bit stumped then. This isn't normal and I've never heard anyone else complaining of it. do you definitely have no other Add-ins or macros at all?

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    I don't really need the macro I created, so I'll get rid of it and see if that fixes the problem. All the others are system defaults.

    The only add-in I have loaded in Word is PDFMaker.dot (I have the full version of Acrobat 5.0).

    Robert

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    PDFMaker is famous for causing problems. What I always do is move the PDFMaker.DOT file to a different folder, add it as an add-in from that folder, and then clear the check mark under Tools > Templates and Add-ins. This stops it from loading automatically but leaves it a short click away if you need to use it.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    In addition to Stuart's replies, check out Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000),197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000)<!/post>.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    > ...This isn't normal and I've never heard anyone else complaining of it.

    This doesn't happen to me nearly as often as Robert reports, but perhaps once or twice a month I'll run a search and receive no results. Upon checking the formatting conditions, I'll discover that underline has been turned on. Since I occasionally do formatted searches, I can't be quite as sure as Robert that this isn't a case of forgetting to turn off a setting I had previously set. But it does seem to me that it happens more often than I perform any formatted search for underlined text. I search just as often for bold or italicized text, and I've never run into those formatting conditions extant when running a new search.

    It's a minor irritant, but it has happened often enough that I automatically check to see if underline has been set in the search parameters when I get a null result.
    Samantha

    Everything in excess! To enjoy the flavor of life, take big bites. Moderation is for monks!
    Robert A. Heinlein - Time Enough for Love

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Stuttgart, Baden-W, Germany
    Posts
    931
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    Could it be a slip of the fingers -- If you bring up Find/Replace with Ctrl+H, Ctrl+U is right next to that key, and sets "Find what" to "underlined"?

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Klaus

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    > Could it be a slip of the fingers -- If you bring up Find/Replace with Ctrl+H, Ctrl+U is right next to that key,

    Hmm... I suppose that's theoretically possible, but it would take invoking both Ctrl+H & Ctrl+U simultaneously with a double hit on both the H & U keys while holding down the Ctrl key. I tried to replicate the phenomenon intentionally, and it wouldn't work.

    This little experiment has reinforced that I am in fact a touch typist -- even when typing at full speed, it is immediately obvious to me when I don't hit a key square-on, it just feels wrong.
    Samantha

    Everything in excess! To enjoy the flavor of life, take big bites. Moderation is for monks!
    Robert A. Heinlein - Time Enough for Love

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    The problem definitely seems connected to PDFMaker. I was (finally) able to replicate the behavior intentionally by opening a document, testing that search wasn't formatted, creating a PDF from the document, and searching again. At that point the search was looking for underlined text.

    StuartR -- I haven't tried your suggestion yet. Do you think your suggestion for moving PDFMaker.dot and unchecking the add-in will help? It seems like once I invoke PDFMaker the behavior will return.

    Robert

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    I have just tried to reproduce this using the PDFMaker from Acrobat 6.0, but without success. Which version do you have?

    I suspect that you may be right about the behaviour returning when you invoke PDFMaker, it should't take too long to check.

    StuartR

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Search looking for underlined words by default (2000/SP3)

    Stuart,

    I'm using Word 2000 SR-3 with Acrobat 5.0.5

    Robert

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •