Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Moving Windows (SP2)

    I have an irritating problem with moving a child window (actually in Access 2000) which has somehow moved up the screen that the title bar is totally obscured by the main widow title bar and menus. As I cannot get at the title bar of the window or dialog box, even after relocating the menu bar down screen, with the mouse to move it what can I do? I am sure there is a simple answer, but it has me beat so far????
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Try Window | Tile Horizontally or Window | Cascade.

    Another possibility:
    - Activate the window (for example using the Window menu)
    - Press Alt+- (dash) to activate the window's system menu.
    - Press M to activate the Move item.
    - Use the arrow keys to move the window around.
    - Press Enter when the title bar is in view again.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    In the parent Access window, can you use the menu command [b]Window

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Boy, it's been so long since I tried this... Used to be that if you right-click on the title of the window on the task bar, the context menu would include MOVE. That's still there in XP and then, moving the mouse into the window will show a double-headed arrow, but for the life of me I can't get it to move the danged window. Can someone else chime in here, please?

    Edited to refresh "senior moment!" Hans (as usual) just refreshed my aging brain in the following post. BigAl now remembers that it's the ARROW keys, not the mouse. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Alt+- is a real neat trick, but why, oh why, did I not think of tiling the windows!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks to you all
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Back in the "good old days" aka DOS 3 the popular way was Alt + Spacebar, I just checked it still works. That was the way with the AT style keyboard and EGA monitor which continually lost Windows.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Alt+spacebar activates the System menu of the parent window in an MDI application such as Access, while Alt+- activates the System menu of the active child window.
    The problem of the original poster was that the title bar of a child window had become hidden behind the toolbars; Alt+spacebar will not help solving that.
    But it is good to have a reminder of the function of Alt+spacebar.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Wow, you must be as old as me! I can even remember the first DOS on a grey import PC with a 110/240 transformer. Great to know that you can still get things done better in DOS sometimes
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving Windows (SP2)

    Probably older??? I operate on a dual chamber pacemaker, angina patches and suffer from fybriomyalgia. At least my battery lasts six to seven years before replacement. They were the days with Lotus 1-2-3 (with the / key for entry), I.B.M.'s Displaywrite (with the embedded commands), phosphorus monitors, (then CGA and even EGA) and great excitement with every new release with the new little commands that did seem to work. It has been downhill since Windows 1.0 which was nothing better than an explorer interface. For some obscure reason I still have my PS/2 - 60 with the original 3 1/2" disks at A$10.00 each.

    Wish I were that young again. I could still use the original disks I have. I have the final release of MicroCADAM just prior to it being acquired by I.B.M. from Lockeed in Burbank. It was a good excuse to travel from Down Under.
    Ted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •