Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Create Simple Page (2002)

Hello all.

I'd like to create a simple webpage consisting of images relevant to a specific reference.
    I have a folder with thousands of images of vehicle repairs. Each vehicle has a reference No e.g :

The reference is a job number we use to recognise each vehicle.
    The folder as I stated earlier contains images imported via a VB6 program.
    So for the above reference (69857) if there are three images, they naturally increment as follows:

69857-01.jpg
    69857-02.jpg
    69857-03.jpg

Another vehicle may be 68877, so 68877-01.jpg, 68877-02.jpg etc etc.

I would like to give owners of the vehicles access to a page so they could see progress of their vehicle being repaired.
    They would have to have a logon & password so they only see images which are relevant to their own vehicle and not look at another persons.

Is this possible to do ?
    I am a complete novice as far as frontpage goes but am familier with VB and M-Access.

Can any one help ? perhaps someone has something similar already written I could attempt to adopt.

Thanks

Thanks

Re: Create Simple Page (2002)

How do you plan to do the authentication?

Option #1: Entirely database driven.

Option #2: Actual server folders would be protected by password.

In the first scenario, you could generate a page using FrontPage's database results feature. It's ASP+ADO under the hood, but you don't really need to learn much ASP or ADO to build your page. I'm not sure how you would prevent someone who figures out the images folder location from looking at other images by guessing file names.

In the second scenario, you would have the user enter a URL that contains the case number, and then the browser would prompt for a password before displaying the page in that folder. The page could be an ASP page that displays all the images automatically (I think this is possible) or it might be one you build by hand.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks