Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    My sister's PC (a Dell desktop) crashed and I mailed her the 13 CDs I made when I created the image almost a year ago. I was on the phone with her and got her to set the boot device to CD. She's able to boot her PC with the TI restore CD just fine. I had her remove that CD and put in CD #13 (the last one), select 'restore image' and 'start new' but when she clicks D: for her CD-R there are no files listed. and the Next button is grayed (which makes sense since there is no file selected). The image was done on TI version 8. I verified the image before I mailed the CDs to her.

    Why can't she see the file name? I'm not surprised to be having problems as I've never had a TI restoration go well (even after verifying - I think that test is bogus anyway - false sense of security).
    I notice that Acronis wants $30 for a support call which I may do (it's cheaper than her mailing me her PC which she's done a few times, and much cheaper than taking it to the local know-nothing tech support at whatever local PC store she has).

    Thnx,
    Deb

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Take a look at the first two responses to a similar question here. There is a response from what appears to be Acronis Support that might provide a link to some <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> support online from Acronis. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Deb,

    The first thing that came to my mind is that perhaps the problem is that you aren't aware that drive letters are often changed when doing a restore. What is normally "D" for your CD ROM might be listed as "E", for example. Thus, have your sister expand EVERY drive and click on each drive letter and folder that is displayed in the tree. It's possible it is indeed there but under a different location than what you would normally expect. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Good idea. I'll have her try that. I know she has one hard drive, one CD-R and one CD-RW which are lettered C, D, E. I had to walk her through the BIOS setup to boot from CD over the phone which was agony as you might imagine (she's not very computer literate and it was very hard to get her to do things I told her). It's just so frustrating that you go to the hassle of making these images but when you need them, more of than not (in my case anyway), they fail. I've read many complaints on Acronis' user forums from other frustrated people.

    I back up my data in good old .zip files, they always work so I don't rely on images much and just resign myself to re-installing the OS and software if I have to. For my sister though, it's too much torture (on my part mostly) to reformat, re-image, re-install all her programs everytime her PC dies so I was hoping this restore would work so she doesn't have to mail me her PC again (which seems to be a bi-annual event).

    Thnx,
    Deb

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    I read the post and it makes me laugh (and cry). Acronis' support answer is a basically 'go get the latest build' which is eerily similar to most support staff's answer of "just reboot" or "just reinstall it" as their standard solution. In my sister's case getting a new build isn't possible since her PC won't boot. This just renforces my opinion of the reliability of their software when it comes to restoring. I created the image when I last had her PC (she lives in a different state so she mails it to me (much cheaper than taking it to any PC store to fix) and saved the 13 CDs for just such an event. I then mailed her the CDs and written instructions with screen shots of what to do.

    Thnx,
    Deb

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Jeff,
    The renaming oddity is why I have NAMED all of my drives and when using TI, I depend on the drive name rather than the drive letter.
    ie: C:=BigBob
    D:=Storage
    E:=Backups
    F:=Program Files
    G:=Misc
    H:=DVD-CD 1
    I:=DVD-CD 2

    Makes thing much easier, I think.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Bob,

    Yep, that's what I have done also, at least with my external USB drive when I partitioned it. Since I knew I was going to create backups on both my own and my wife's PC using True Image to this external drive, I created two partitions specifically for that purpose and named them with each of our names. Thus, when I create a backup or need to restore an image for my machine, the drive is quickly and easily seen as "Jeff" and for her, "Barb". Sure makes things easier.

    But if one hasn't done that, then it is necessary to do as suggested, i.e., to expand each drive letter and then see which of the drives the backup files are on. It's a bit of a pain, but it isn't anything that difficult to do. hehe

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Actually, I too read the responses from the Acronis Support individual and he didn't suggest that the person upgrade as the first item to consider. What he did was to give some instructions on how to remedy the situation and if that didn't work, to create the log file and send it to them from which they would then be able to diagnose the problem and help him. Secondly, you might have not noticed, but the problem that they (2) were having was that they had formatted their drives as "dynamic drives" which isn't what is typically by the overwhelming majority of people who use a PC. Thus, they had a special situation. It isn't really fair, IMHO, to put blame on Acronis and say their product is unreliable, etc., when the end user is doing something (which no doubt some "guru" recommended to tweak their system) that the program wasn't coded to deal with. The problems and/or complaints you read on ANY such "support" forum are minuscule compared to the entire number of people who are using Acronis True Image. It is expected that what you would read there would be people with problems. But they are NOT paradigmatic of the customer base. Even here you will find that the vast majority of us who have been using True Image over the years are more than happy with it, have few if any problems and when we do, Acronis is generally great in helping resolve whatever issue we are having.

    As I wrote to you previously, the "problem" may not be a problem at all with the program but simply you or your sister clicking on the right drive to access the image on the media. Before switching over to an external USB 2.0 drive, I created all my backups to hi-speed CD-RW disks. And that's why I mentioned the changing of the drive letters since I have gone through that myself and clearly remember the first time I tried to go through a restoration process and couldn't see the backup image on the drive letter of my burner as I expected. So, before casting stones at Acronis, why not wait and see if your sister can find the backup image. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Yes I agree for the most part. The use of dynamic drives isn't an issue with me or my sister and in both cases our PCs are as plain as you can get. I've never not had problems of one sort or another when restoring a full image (individual files are fine) so my personal history is very negative and tainted. Backing up to CD-R is as ordinary as you can get so if that doesn't work every single time, there's a problem as far as I'm concerned. I've also had images verify many times but when it came to actually use it, it failed. So for me, I have to assume that any image I create may not actually restore when I need it so I choose to use multiple alternative methods but this isn't what the typical user (with bare bones computer literacy) should have to go through.

    I'm happy for the many folks who it works for but I'm not in that club.

    Deb

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Your history of having problems with True Image, at least that is what I gathered you are implying, is unfortunate. But have you considered that the problem(s) you have experienced just might not be the fault of the application itself but reside elsewhere? For example, there could be issues with your particular hardware, maybe even the matter of using an older version of True Image which doesn't recognize certain hardware you are using, or bad media, or it might be a "user" issue, i.e., not knowing the correct method for creating backup images? or any other number of other things of which the program has no control over. To be perfectly honest, the vast majority of people, particularly with "plain vanilla" systems never have problems of any kind. So, you gotta think that something has got to be peculiar with your system and/or there is a user input issue. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/scratchchin.gif>

    The good thing is that both Acronis, their own support board and those of us here who use the application are more than willing to help resolve your problems; sometimes more willing than capable. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    Ok I give up, no more discussion here, <sarcasm on>TI is a wonderful program, flawless in every way <sarcasm off>. These problems were off of almost new PCs with various versions of TI. I have been using PCs for 25+ years and have engineering and computer science degrees so not a novice in this area. My plain vanilla systems are just that, nothing state of the art, brand name Dell or IBM. TI is easy to use, simple interface so I don't see how user error can come into play when there are maybe 3 buttons to push. It's quite self-explanatory. If bad media gets past their verify routine, then TI is to blame, not the user. I've had it verify just fine then I turn around to use it and the 2nd to last CD pukes... who's error is that? I give up.

    Deb signing off......before this post turns anymore into a TI flame (as many have).

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image - Restore problem (Win XP)

    I don't use Acronis TrueImage, but if it's any consolation, I have had similar problems trying to restore from CDs created with DriveImage. I regularly restore images from local and network drives, but they seem to have problems with their CD support.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •