Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    True Image v8 not working - help!

    Sorry, I don't know whether this is the right board for this.

    I use Acronis True Image 8 regularly. Today I've had a major Windows crash - blue screen says that a device driver is trying to corrupt the heap, suggests check any new hardware of which there is none new.

    OK I thought, True Image would help. No F11 prompt for the first time ever. OK, I thought - boot from the rescue disk I created. This allowed me to select to restore an image and then rebooted without doing anything.

    Eventually got in to safe mode and ran True Image. This time it allowed me to select an image file to restore, I did so and it then told me that the partition selected was locked and this led to another fruitless reboot.

    Can't see what to do next. I have a good recent image file but seem to be being forced to do a full XP instal. What is True Image for if not to help me out. Can anyone suggest anything.

    David

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    I don't know a fix for this situation, but as a workaround (and a way to save your data and your sanity) you could reinstall XP, then install True Image and then try to restore the image you have.

    But first, I would make an attempt to solve the problem at hand. It may be something relatively simple. Can you tell us more about the error message. A direct quote of it would help. Also, what were you doing when the problem started ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    Sorry the screen doesn't stick around long enough before the machine reboots so I only have a few of the words (this is a full screen of text on a blue background.

    The fault occurs after Windows starts, after I log in and after the normal screen is drawn with all icons - just at the point you would assume the m/c has fully booted. It has not let me in this morning having started OK yesterday. I've nothing else to go on so a full reinstall looks like being the next step.

    David

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    Have you tried signing into another profile or signing in on the Administrator account ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!


  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    I think Doc may be right in his quest for you not to give up just yet. But while you're looking into that, I'd like to go back to the original post and ask what is the "F11 prompt" you mentioned? If you were to try to restore an image, you (usually) can't do that from within Windows (incl. Safe mode) and would have to use the boot CD to start TrueImage outside of Windows. That may be why you got that "locked" message, I don't know. Now, back to running the boot CD. Where is the backup image you want to restore - on a secondary drive, an external drive, network drive, CDs...? When you boot from the CD, the process of selecting an image and starting a restore shouldn't be too much different from running on the hard drive. I haven't done a full restore lately, so I don't know if something's changed in TrueImage process or not. If you don't find a solution in other ways and DO go back to TI again, it would help if you write down which screens you get through (i.e. source file, destination partition, etc.) before this reboot takes place, if in fact it does happen again.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    David,
    ________________________________
    Eventually got in to safe mode and ran True Image.
    -------------------------------------------------
    You shouldn't have to go to Safe Mode to run TI. Just set your BIOS to have the CD as the first boot selection instead of the the Hard Drive. Boot to the TI boot disk. NO F11 involved here at all.

    The partition was locked because you were in Safe Mode. Once the restore of the Active partition begins, TI blows away your primary partition and sets a new one based on the old Image, along with the entire contents of the C drive.

    BTW, Have you upgraded your Version 8 to their latest build? Version 8 was at build 937 before Version 9 came along.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    Portable computer is now terminally ill and wont boot in any way even with Windows CD in drive (and bios set to read it). It will have to go back to Mummy HP. I now suspect a motherboard fault might underly all the odd things that have appeared to be wrong.

    Thanks Big Al and Bob, and others for all your help. I think this ends this thread.

    David

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image v8 not working - help!

    Big Al,

    To answer your question, re: "F11" with True Image, if you create a "Secure Zone" via the True Image window, which is where you would then save the created images to, on bootup you then get the option on the post screen to press "F11" to activate True Image and do a restore. It should go without saying that the "Secure Zone" should be created on a different HDD than the one that Windows is installed on. In the event that the main HDD experiences a physical failure/problem, then the backup image would be inaccessible and virtually useless.

    DollyP,

    Even at worst, you should not have to do a format and reinstall of Windows. There are LOTS of alternatives before resorting to that drastic of a solution. You could, for example, do a "Repair Installation" of Windows and thus retain all your programs, settings, etc. But should you HAVE TO do a format and full reinstallation of Windows, then as it was mentioned in another reply, you should then be able to use your True Image backup image to do a "restore" to get you back running again before this incident.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •