Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    What do you do if a PC won't take SP2? (SP1)

    A friend has an XP Home SP1 PC on which attempts have been made to install SP2. The SP2 update seems to go fine, but when it restarts, it goes to the Starting Windows screen but then reboots. Nothing particularly obvious in the System or Application Event Logs.

    I've even removed everything from the Registry startup keys and the Startup folders (AOL, anti-spam/virus/etc), rebooted and tried SP2 again, with the same result.

    Any bright ideas?

    Thanks

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: What do you do if a PC won't take SP2? (SP1)

    Have you tried installing a slipstreamed copy of XP/SP2 over top of the original installation ??? Or perhaps just going to Windows update and downloading all the updates or allowing them to run the install process for SP2 ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What do you do if a PC won't take SP2? (SP1)

    John,
    Maybe it is related to hardware / device drivers. Is

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: What do you do if a PC won't take SP2? (SP1)

    If you have Norton 2006 or the current version McAfee installed, they will appear to trash your system, including but not limited to rebooting, super slow start up and performance.

    I have found that if SP2 is installed BEFORE either of the above, the results are not bad. These products were designed with the intent that SP2 would be installed, since it has been out a lot longer than than them.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: What do you do if a PC won't take SP2? (SP1)

    Thanks for the suggestions, which I'll try when I can get a day with this PC, uninterrupted!

    The Rude Message from Microsoft says we have until 10th October to get SP2 on, so there is a little leeway...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •