Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    Has anyone had the experience of combo boxes that revert to text boxes in a query? Following the advice of the more experienced, I have left the tables alone but created a queries that mirror the table for data entry. For some fields I have manually created combo boxes to replace the primary key ID fields with the corresponding text value that can be selected easily from the drop down list. This was done in the usual way in design view by highlighting the column of the query and selecting "Field Properties" then setting the "Display Control" in "Lookup" to a Combo box and then putting an SQL for the row source etc etc. It has always worked before but suddenly with the particular database I am now working on it keeps reverting to the basic text box and Primary ID. Yes, I've tried recreating the whole database and using /decompile and compact and repair and sometimes this fixes it but not for long. Anyone seen this behaviour before?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    <longshot> Would it have anything to do with the query being locked from modifications?

    I've noticed that under certain circumstances queries are editable and other times they are not editable. (I've yet to figure out the exact circumstances that determine when this is true.) My guess is that the query in question could be one that's not editable.

    Maybe you could try the combo boxes on a query that is unquestionably editable.</longshot>

    HTH <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    I've seen this behavior in the previous version of Access as well. In fact, I always considered this normal behavior and used it to my advantage to see what the actual value in the field was in the rare instances where I used those blasted lookups in tables.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    I think you would be much better off creating a continuous form for dataentry, and not doing it directly into a table or query. A form gives you much more control over the whole data entry process.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    Thanks, your advice is good. I recreated my query as a form in datasheet view and it works fine - the combo boxes are behaving themselves and you can even have some columns as calculated expressions without making the whole thing un-updateable.
    It is a transactions ledger and I wanted the whole thing to visually resemble a bank statement - hence this choice of form rather than the usual more graphically appealing choices.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uncooperative Combo Boxes in Query (Access 2000 / SP1)

    No but thanks anyway.
    It is strange because I have another database that is virtually identical (except for the data contained) and it works perfectly in that one.
    However I have taken Mark Liquorman's advice and simply created a continuous datasheet form which looks just the same as the query and the combo boxes work fine there. How weird it all is!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •