Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    Can anyone help?

    I have a layout table which I would like to number. When I select the column I want the numbers to appear in and select the numbering optiion all rows are set at number 1, instead of 1, 2, 3. Is there a way to number a layout table?

    Many thanks
    Jack

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by fburg on 07-Jul-06 07:03. I meant to say "something like a Word table" and am also assuming that formatting is similar to Wrod)</P>Hi Jack,

    I don't know what a layout table is and I'm not sure if I understand exactly what you want. My guess is that you have a table in a Word document and you want some column to be numbered - not consecutively 1, 2, 3, ... up to the number of rows - but all cells to have just 1.

    If that's what you want, easy enough.

    Select the column (or consecutive cells) that you want numbered. Go into the Format | Bullets and Numbering dialog and select the BULLETS tab. Pick one of the bullet templates and click the Customize button. When in the Customize Bulleted List dialog, click on the button that says Character... You should now see something that looks like a table of characters. Find the character "1" and OK your way out.

    What you're doing is using a "1" as your bullet character, same thing as you would be doing by using those little circles.

    HTH

    Fred

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    You would think the formatting was similar to Word but unfortunately it is not. Have looked and just cannot see how to roll the numbers on in the column. When you highlight a column and click on Bullets and Numbers all the rows in the column register 1.

    Makes no sense to me !!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    I don't use InfoPath, although I think I might have a free copy somewhere in a drawer. Is it possible that in "design mode" you don't see the true way that the numbering will render, or does it also look wrong when you "run" the form?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    It looks wrong when you run the code. It just seems such a simple think but is causing me a nightmare !!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    Tried Googling? For InfoPath autonumber the first hit was: How To: Create An Auto-Number Field

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    Thanks for this ..... seems such a long winded way of doing such a simple thing !! InfoPath, who ever thought that would be a good idea !!

    Cheers
    Jack

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: InfoPath - Numbering Tables (Office 2003)

    I guess they thought it would be better to start fresh with a new product than to try to force Access to work with XML forms. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •