Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    agrifert
    Guest

    Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    I just upgraded office 2000 pro with the SR-1a and SR-2 from the ms office update site and now i open an application and even before i click a mouse the application shuts down ...no error messages no hang ups just full application shut down. I am running windows ME on a toshiba laptop with norton antivirus 2001 active ... office ran well before the updates. HELP

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    For starters, see <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=off&Number=51965&page=0&vie w=expanded>this thread</A>.

  3. #3
    agrifert
    Guest

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    I do have the GC6J3 key ... so am i using an illegal copy ? should i totally uninstall the product

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    1) where did you get your copy from?
    2) how much did you pay for it?

    some possible answers:
    1) a. dell. they messed up when they made the disk images. it's legal.
    b. computer show. they sell a lot of OEM. it's only legal under certain conditions. they also sell pirated copies.
    c. online auction. see 1b.

    2) a. much cheaper than most retailers sell it for, pirated;
    b. upwards of $200, or more? probably legit, unless the cd is obviously a copy.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    According to <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/4/18683.html> an article on The Register</A>, "That, plain and simple, is Microsoft telling you that you installed Office 2000 with a product key that has been compromised, and that as part of the service pack update Microsoft has invalidated the key."

    A <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.google.com/search?q=GC6J3>Google search for GC6J3</A> appears to support that interpretation: the URLs and brief excerpts look largely like cracker sites and boards.

    Still, this blunderbuss approach is bad for paying customers. Without Microsoft's dominant marketshare, this could never happen.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    ...seems you never know exactly what is going out <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> through that little connection to the Internet, does it? <img src=/S/rtfm.gif border=0 alt=rtfm width=24 height=23>

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    nothing went out - the SR1 update that the user brings in contains code to shut it down if installed with certain codes.

    office xp will do something similar - there are at least keys available on the internet that will be disabled in a future update.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    Respectfully, the MS Website notes this about installing SR1-A:

    "Note The actual file size will depend on what you already have installed. The actual download time will depend on your modem speed and what needs to be installed. The file size and download time indicated on this page represent the initial time it will take for us to determine which patches need to be applied to your machine. The actual file size varies between 26-40 MB; the actual download time @28.8k is between 2-3 hours. "

    Seems that "determining which patches need to be applied to your machine." would require some two-way communication, which would, in my opinion, most probably involve some user information.

  9. #9
    agrifert
    Guest

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    well this was one of 4 CDs containing the whole of the premium edition and i did pay $325 for in saudi arabia at a computer expo in '99

  10. #10
    agrifert
    Guest

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    I did the one thing open to me now anyway ..i used win ME restore to take me back to where I was before SR1a and SR2 and the thing is back to normal again .
    guess I will just play around with this version long enough till i get the XP version and be done with it
    OR
    who knows I may finally give up on microsoft and their patches and go to Linux and star office hahahaha

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    that'll work <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    you can follow the instructions in the KB about calling MS for a replacement key - if you have a desire to run SR1 and 2. But unless you are having a problem with one of the things that gets fixed by the patches, you really don't need the SRs.

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    when you first log on to those sites it shows a screen that says "checking for updates" or something along those lines. it scans, but does not send to MS, the approprate locations on the machine to determine your software versions. Based on what it finds, it downloads what it needs - without sending data back. Generally the large end of the updates involve updating older versions of the browser and the low end is the app only. For office, which apps you have installed from the suite also affect file size.

    the specific file(s) needed to disable the key is downloaded in the 26 meg package and applied to all machines. if any of us were to try using the bad key on already updated machines, it wouldn't work either. they did not scan for the key, then only download the file to disable it if the key was found.

  13. #13
    agrifert
    Guest

    Re: Office 2000 aches SR-1a SR-2 (office 2000)

    Thanx Mary for the great advice ... That might have worked if I were in the US or Canada ... not here in the middle east... anyway the reason I wanted the SR s was for the security patches rather than for improving on the programs... I get my tips from Woody's not MS support hahahaha...
    great job for all moderators thanks again <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •