Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lewes, East Sussex, Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    We have an odd problem with the Application Title property. It was orignally set to

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    I don't know the cause of the problem, but you could set the AppTitle property in the On Open event of the startup form of the database, or in an AutoExec macro.

    CurrentDb.Properties("AppTitle") = "New System Name"
    Application.RefreshTitleBar

    If you don't want to modify the code, you could store the application title in a small table tblSettings with a text field AppTitle and only one record:

    CurrentDb.Properties("AppTitle") = DLookup("AppTitle", "tblSettings")
    Application.RefreshTitleBar

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lewes, East Sussex, Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    Hans

    Thanks for that, but it does not quite solve the problem. What you have described is pretty much what we do anyway.

    The problem is that when the application opens the title bar is set to the value in the Tools/Startup screen before any code is run. I'm not sure how to get round this except by checking that value on every build before it is released to the users.

    Nick

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    Perhaps someone who works with SourceSafe will have a suggestion.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    I'm not sure I understand your description. If you have a startup value set for Application Title, then that will be used without any code necessary. Do you have multiple people working on the project? If so, testing the sourcesafe version of the build with the misc data objects checked out can result in this if someone innnocently checks it in after testing.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lewes, East Sussex, Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    Charlotte

    There are 2 of us working on the project using SourceSafe, and neither of us have changed the title. We reckon it's probably a glitch in SourceSafe.

    Nick

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Application.Title property (A2002 SP3)

    Sourcesafe definitely has some glitches, but I've never seen it revert spontaneously to an earlier saved version, although I have seen modifications evaporate. The whole application.title business is tricky since the default in Access is "Microsoft Access". If you pull a whole new build out of sourcesafe (Create database from source safe, not just get latests), what do you see for the application.title in the startup window?
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •