Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX, Texas, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    1. When I try to open a shortcut, I have to check which program to associate it with.
    2. Some links in websites lead me to: "search for browser" in My Documents
    3. A lot of links don't even open
    4.I can't get into Tools|Internet Options. It says that I don't have administrator control. When I go to Control Panel|User Accounts, I am the Administrator. There are no accounts other than "Guest:" If I start in Safe Mode, there is an administrator account icon to log into.
    5. I keep getting "Popups Blocked" but my toolbar says Popups OK.
    Advise appreciated!

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Best bet with all those problems is to do a REPAIR reinstall of IE 6

    Check out the info at: REPAIR IE6
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX, Texas, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Hi Viking,
    Thank you for your reply and the info.
    Unless I missed something though, the MSFT article refers to Win SP1 and I have SP2 installed. Does that create an issue?
    Eli

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    It shouldn't be an issue.
    IE 6 comes with both SP1 and SP2. I also checked my registry value item mentioned in the MSKB article and it is the same. Just change the "IsInstalled" value from 1 to 0 and you should be able to reinstall IE 6 from the I386 folder or download it from MS.

    OR
    If you wish you can just do a repair reinstall of SP 2 which will include IE 6, then update from the MS Windows Update site.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX, Texas, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Hi Consultant,
    The IsInstalled value is set at "0" but when I try to download IE6 it says that I have a newer version installed and logs out. I don't know how to do a repair of IE6 or even re-load Windows and I think that's what's needed.

    Strangely, I did download IE7 (Beta3) and it was successful up to the point of restarting the PC. It wouldn't restart and it installed IE7 first on my "F" drive, which is my external back up. Then, it downloaded IE 7 into my "D" drive, which has Win98 on it. I couldn't get it to extract the files to my "C" drive. Then the IE7 download restarted and it came up as unsuccessful.

    I think I need to reinstall Win Xp if I don't wipe out everything. What do you think?

  7. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Eli,

    It sounds like you still have at least remnants of IE 7 on your machine.
    The first thing would be to uninstall IE 7 using the AddRemove component of Control Panel. It MAY offer to revert you back to IE 6 but once you get IE 7 off the system, the easiest way to get IE 6 SP1 ( not to be confused with XP SP1 ) would be to use the XP SP2 CD to do a reinstall of XP SP2 which would include IE 6 SP1.

    Another link to read is IE 7
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX, Texas, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Hi Viking,
    Unfortunately, IE7 isn't in my Control Panel list of apps or Windows apps; neither is IE6
    How do I get the WinXP Sp2 CD? Also, why would I want to install IE6 SP1 when I'm using IE6 SP2
    Eli

  9. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Eli,
    You are confusing IE 6.1 ( which is part of XP SP2 ) with XP SP1.
    Here is another link to another method REPAIR IE6

    So far as a copy of SP2, you can either download it ( it's a BIG DL ) or order a free CD copy from MS at: SP2 CD
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX, Texas, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Hi Viking,
    Being confused is a normal state for me!
    "About IE" says that it's IE6 sp2
    'About Windows' says that it's version 5.1 sp2 so do I need to get the SP2 CD? When I try to down load SP2, the website moves to "search for updates" and it says that I don't need any.

    Apple's Mac is beginning to look better all the time.

  11. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Eli,
    Yes, you need it. You are trying to repair the copy you have installed.

    OK... Go to SP2
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Hi Bob,
    I don't get this in your <post:=589,201>post 589,201</post:> you say:
    <hr>It MAY offer to revert you back to IE 6 but once you get IE 7 off the system, the easiest way to get IE 6 SP1 ( not to be confused with XP SP1 ) would be to use the XP SP2 CD to do a reinstall of XP SP2 which would include IE 6 SP1.<hr>
    Now, I am the first to admit that the IE7 can confuse the situation a little, thinking about the questions in the first post. However, the beta version of IE should be possible to remove using the Add/Remove as you say, nothing odd there.

    Then you say to get IE6 SP1 use the XP SP2 CD, it will include IE6 SP1. Does it? I was under the impression that Windows XP Service pack 2 included the Internet Explorer service pack 2.

    I don't even think the IE6 SP2 is available as a standalone download (as the IE6 SP1); to get the Internet Explorer for Windows XP Service Pack 2, you need to install XP SP2.

    It seems like Eli has a system with SP2 installed, but no SP2 CD or SP2 file. Trying to download an IE6 SP1 on a system with IE6 SP2 will probably give an answer "you have a newer version installed". The same could probably happen if one has IE 7 beta.

    What is IE 6.1?

  13. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6 - Erratic (IE6 sp2)

    Argus & Eli,
    My apologies regarding the matter of IE 6.1.
    IE 6.1 or SP1 is intended for non XP computers. IE 6.0 is included as part of XP SP2 and does have a couple of hotfix updates but the version is not changed to IE 6.1.

    Apparently IE 6 SP2 is not available from Microsoft as a stand alone but must be obtained along with the XP SP2 upgrade.
    <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> Sorry about that.

    XP SP2 can be downloaded from the link I had in <post#=589,430>post 589,430</post#>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •