Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Back in my Mozilla days, I had a user.js file with the following entries to selectively BLOCK popups from certain sites. It doesn't work in Firefox and I think the configuration commands have been eliminated. I'm in the process of searching the Mozillazine forum, but can anyone tell me how to accomplish what I want to do.

    user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "strict");
    user_pref("capability.policy.strict.Window.open", "noAccess");
    user_pref("capability.policy.strict.sites", "http://www.cnn.com");

    The Firefox Options allow me to block ALL popups and enter exceptions for the ones I want to allow. Not only do I not want to do that, but I don't know all the ones I want to allow. Can I do the reverse and is an extension the "today" answer? TIA...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    That does look like the correct code. (See Configurable Security Policies (CAPS)) Sometimes pop-ups are generated from a different host, such as, hypothetically, eviladvertising.cnn.com, so it might be a matter of determining where exactly the JavaScript statement causing the pop-up is hosted. Or you could try something more generic like cnn.com alone and see whether that works. (I can't recall whether I have tested that in the past.)

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Obviously with my limited knowledge of subjects like this I can't be sure, but I think those security policy commands must only be applicable to Mozilla and not Firefox. Here's why I'm guessing such. In my <big>USER.JS</big> file I also have the following two lines:

    user_pref("browser.tabs.opentabfor.windowopen", true);
    user_pref("browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs" , true);

    Those two entries were evidently created by Firefox itself, for I made the changes via the Tools/Options menu selection, not by manually editing the user.js file. I did this detective work in order to make sure the file IS getting read on Fx load and it is. If I execute an about:config command, the above two entries clearly show, in bold, as user entered changes to the default. But the security policy entries from my first post are nowhere to be found.

    What I've also done since I started this thread is install the Adblock extension and insert CNN.COM as my only entry. Boy, that stops all the doggone popup windows and then some. It performs as its name implies and eliminates ALL adverts from CNN pages and a few things that are necessary for navigation, like some "buttons" on various pages that are necessary for navigation. Dang it all! I just want to stop the popup windows. I'm still looking for some other extension...

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Have you looked into AdBlock . I use this and smething called "FilterSet G" http://www.pierceive.com/.

    I don't pay a lot of attention to it, but it seems to be pretty good.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    CAPS works in Firefox, but it's a hassle to use. The Adblock or Adblock Plus or NoScript extensions offer an easier way to deal with script-driven advertising.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Can you tell me what the hassle is? I've got AdBlock and AdBlock Plus installed (had a heck of a lot of trouble installing Plus in 1.5.0.5) and they aren't what I'm looking for. I'd sure like to see what it takes to enable the "normal" security policies. If you could just point me to the proper syntax...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    What I did is described in this old thread: Migrate IE Restricted Sites to Mozilla/Firefox (uh, only tested FF0.9.2). The hassle is keeping that one very long list up-to-date would require manual editing of the pref.js file, which really should be done with Firefox closed. So I rarely add anything anymore and rely on NoScript instead.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    By the way, this is what NoScript shows for cnn.com, there are scripts and presumably other content pulled from cnn.net, a third party, and a hidden frame (about:blank). I didn't turn them on and off testing for the source of the pop-up, but one could if one really wanted to know. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    As Jim does, I use adblock and filterset G, set to default and have no issues with buttons on cnn. Instead of customizing right away you may wish to try the default setting and see how it works for you.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Thanks Jefferson. Now I've got some weekend digging and possible work to do.

    For Sinjin: I am gonna try that (those) filters as you and Jim suggested. I was trying his link yesterday and couldn't get the extension to download. Funny thing is, it just now downloaded fine. Now I've got to restart Fx and see what I've got.

    Thanks everyone!

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Here's a first-look at AdBlock with Filterset G. First, I should say that I have my Fx Tools/Options/Tabs setting to open links (two places) in a new tab. I may need to change that and welcome your comments. However, here's what's happening to me. I go to the CNN front page, and as I click a link to read a story and then hit the back button to return to the front page, a new window opens and is minimized to the task bar. As I continue to read stories and click the back button, this process repeats itself until I have MANY buttons on the task bar that I have to close. Now the AdBlock/Filterset extensions ARE blocking ads to the degree that the pages I'm reading are clear AND the "popup" windows that are minimized to the task bar are EMPTY of the Orbitz advertising! I'm going to make a tweak or two to the Fx options to see if that will help.

    After reading THREE stories, I opened the three empty windows on the task bar and arranged the screen so I could show you this significantly cropped screenshot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Did I finally make it? I think I did ! ! As shown in THIS screenshot, I changed my tabbing options in Fx and just now read SEVERAL stories on the CNN pages without popups or buttons on the task bar!

    I've got my <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> on both hands... Thanks Jim and Sinjin. I still intend to pursue Jefferson's link later today when I return home. So far, so good.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Sorry to keep posting consecutively, but I'm afraid I was wrong. After my usual morning computer reboot, CNN is back to its old tricks. Each article read opens another EMPTY advertising window, minimized to the task bar. I don't know if it's a cookies problem, Fx options, or what. This time the advertiser is evidently Netflix whereas it was Orbitz in my earlier example. If anyone has any further suggestions, I would welcome your help.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    Al, please try these new preferences.
    <UL><LI>Close Firefox.

    <LI>Open your profile folder and:

    1. <LI>Make a backup copy of prefs.js

      <LI>Add the following two lines to the file:
      <code>user_pref("capability.policy.cnnstuff.javasc ript.enabled", "noAccess");
      user_pref("capability.policy.cnnstuff.sites", "2mdn.net a.cnn.net advertising.com atdmt.com atwola.com doubleclick.net questionmarket.com");</code>

      <LI>Edit the policynames line to add "cnnstuff" to whatever policies might already exist:
      <code>user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "policy1 policy2 policy3 cnnstuff");</code>

      <LI>Save and close prefs.js
    <LI>Restart Firefox and see whether it helps.[/list]Note: if you allow a.cnn.net, CNN will deliver pop-ups on the home page, but in my case, the built-in pop-up blocker stopped them and posted the yellow bar under the address bar.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox Popups (1.5.0.4)

    After your last post or two I noticed a small difference. I have the TabBrowser Preferences 1.2.8.9 extension installed to give me greater control over my tabs and windows. It replaces the default setup and provides for more options. It is found at http://216.55.161.203/theonekea/tabprefs/. It may be the little extra control you need to be satisfied. I also attached a complete list of extentions I use to compare with yours as you may have two that conflict in some way with each other.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •