3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Won't Save Templates (Word 2003)

I hope someone else has had an experience similar to this one:

I'm a serious VBA programmer, and I just switched to Word 2003 this week. Today, I noticed that if I open a template (DOT file) in Word, makes some changes (either typing some text or modifying some code), Word will NOT automatically ask me to save changes if I close the application; it just closes it! It WILL prompt me to save changes to a DOC file, though. With some templates, it sometimes (but not always) asks me if I want to save changes to NORMAL.DOT, which wasn't changed in any way. (There are no Auto-macros involved.) Oh, and to make it MORE confusing, there are some

In trying to find out why, I learned that it didn't matter whether I have "Prompt to save changes to NORMAL" turned on or off; it behaves the same way either way. (BTW, I actually read on Microsoft's site that turning off the "Prompt..." option will still save Normal.dot, it just won't prompt you... which is amazing since it's never done that for me!) I've made sure that Adobe isn't hijacking Word... er, I mean loading it's DOTs or COMs. There are NO add-in templates... I'm befuddled and quite upset, as I was quite used to being able to close Word and have it prompt me to save my work (which is almost exclusively template development) in one fell swoop.

Does anyone have any idea what else I might investigate? (I am quite familiar with, and grateful for, Phil Rabichow's trouble-shooting approach, but that didn't turn up anything.)
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">That's what you do in a herd; you look out for each other!</font face=comic> - Mike

Thanks

Re: Won't Save Templates (Word 2003)

Did you clear the checkbox to Always discard unsaved changes? (Just kidding.)