Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Pulling cable

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Pulling cable

    We have a Network tech working for us. Is it legal for him to layout a data cable or does it have to be done by "Licensed" techs. If it is not legal can anybody point me to some documentation on it.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Pulling cable

    Legal in which jurisdiction?

    I can lay all the cable I like in the UK, provided it does not carry mains voltage...!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pulling cable

    Our Maintenance Dept. will not pull it, said it has to be a License company. Our Tech was going to pull it but he was stop because there are power cables in the same location also something about health reasons (asbestos).

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Pulling cable

    Is this a UNION workplace?

    Is he just going to run the cable from point to point?

    I would question your Maintenance Dept to see where they got their information from.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pulling cable

    I agree with Bob's question - Is this a Union issue ?

    Also, The health issue (asbestos) can also be real. Building code requirement usually state that if asbestos is involved and is open to air, there are extremely extensive (and expensive) requirements. You need to check your local area's building code requirements.

    As for data cables next to power cables - this is usually a bad idea - unless the data cables are either shielded or being put in a shielded cable run.
    Scott

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Pulling cable

    No there are no Union issues here. This is an old building and when the cables (data) were pulled nobody was concern with power lines. Now, the Network and Maintenace Techs. are concern with the saftey side (powerlines) and health.

    Thanks for the feed back. I will pass it on to all involded and check the asbestos issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •