Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Java Applet Failed

    I've just changed from XP Home to XP Professional and find some, but not all, Java items are giving me a "Java Applet Failed". Do I have do download Java again? Is anyone able to help me please.
    Many Thanks
    <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Try performing a Java update.
    Scott

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Thanks Scott will give it a bash and let you know.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Java Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 8 released. Download it from

    https://sdlc5b.sun.com/ECom/EComActionServl...3F8DA3B1BC3C667

    If you use Java Runtime Environment 1.4.2, the latest update is 12. Download it from

    https://sdlc5d.sun.com/ECom/EComActionServl...E4ACC44A78ECE24

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    hans,

    Out of curiosity, how do you update your Java ?
    Scott

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Kaplinb's links worked for me earlier today, but now I get a login prompt too. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

    The regular download page Download Java Software still mentions Version 5.0 Update 6, not 8.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    <hr>The regular download page Download Java Software still mentions Version 5.0 Update 6, not 8.<hr>

    This is the site my machine goes to for the machine with JRE Version 5.

    On the other machine, I only get an update status for "Java 2 Platform Standard Edition, Version 1.5.0 (build 1.5.0_06-b05)". The cache shows it to is going to a http://www.java.com wbsite. I suppose I should update this machine to JRE Version 5 - but I am of the opinion, if it is not broke - LEAVE IT ALONE DUMMY (er me of course - dummy I mean)

    Of course, if I am missing something and JRE Version 5 is a better product, I will update.
    Scott

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    > Kaplinb's links worked for me earlier today, but now I get a login prompt too.

    Since they appear to contain a Session ID, I wonder if you got in before the session timed out.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    I guess that must be the reason. I first followed the link within a few minutes after kaplinb posted it.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    If you don't experience problems, I'd leave it as it is.

    BTW, I don't think they are different products. The file I downloaded from kaplinb's link is jre-1_5_0_08-windows-i586-p.exe, and the file (for manual installation) from the regular download site is jre-1_5_0_06-windows-i586-p.exe.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

    <hr>Since they appear to contain a Session ID, I wonder if you got in before the session timed out.<hr>

    If this is true, would this nt indicate a possible security problem ?

    If someone (User 1) on the internet accessed a secure website requiring a UserID and Password, and someone ELSE (User 2) on the internet accessed the site while User 1 was still on or just left, and WAS able to get on - this would indicate a security problem to me.

    Or, was the link including the encrypted user ID and password for that session originally opened by User 1 ?
    Scott

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    You would only have a few minutes grace in which to discover that the session had an ID of 6F47495F87198D8A03F8DA3B1BC3C667, which is hardly likely to be guessed. It would certainly not be secure enough for a bank, but it's not a big issue for a download site.

    StuartR

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    Sorry, I did not expect any troubles with this link.

    Try this: go to http://java.sun.com

    On the right side of the page under "Popular Downloads" click on "Java SE" link (SE stands for Standard Edition)

    You must be redirected to http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp
    Scroll down to "Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 5.0 Update 8" and click "Download" button

    It will redirect you to secure page with YOUR OWN session id - I am so sorry I didn't pay attention on this moment.
    Then click "Accept License Agreement" button and download the update: full version (15.74 MB) or online installer only (7.10 MB).

    Once again sorry for inconvenience,

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Java Applet Failed

    <hr>Edited ~2207 8/16/2006 by IMNetUser to correct https://sdlc5b.sun.com/ECom/EComActionServl...3F8DA3B1BC3C667 Link <hr>
    I wasn't trying to be short with indigo in my <post#= 593,014>post 593,014</post#>, just with different platforms, I thought using the Java Console Update button might be an easier option - granted, should have put how to get there initially.

    On my main XP Pro machine, I have Java 2 Platform Standard Edition, Version 1.5.0 (build 1.5.0_06-b05) ..

    I do not see the UPDATE # (Opened Control Panel, Clicked Java Icon, General Tab, clicked About).

    I just make sure the Automatic Updates setting is checked (Click Update Tab, Ensure Check for Updates Automatically box is checked). I click the advanced button to set the frequency of checking for automatic updates.

    I also have an Update Now buttong at the bottom of the Update tab where I can force an update.

    The other machine using Java is "Java Runtime Environment Version 5.0 Update 6". I click on the update button there and "You receive already have the latest Java(tm) Platform on the system" messgae.

    I initially installed Java Version 5 from http://www.java.com.

    When clicking your link https://sdlc5b.sun.com/ECom/EComActionServl...3F8DA3B1BC3C667, I'm taken to a secure sun.com page which requires an Online Account user ID and password - I have NEVER had to do this before. I use the free versions.

    Same thing happens when I click on https://sdlc5b.sun.com/ECom/EComActionServl...3F8DA3B1BC3C667 for JRE 1.4.2, Update 12 (again my machine shows a version number - not an update #).

    Am I missing something here ? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29> <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Scott

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •