Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: error message

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    the great white north..., Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    error message

    Edited by HansV to remove white space from attached image

    hello one and all!

    help, please. the last week of june, my computer (hereafter referred to as the beast), got virri'ed, and heavily so. i had inadvertently let norton anti-virus lapse. i didn't notice it because i had done so in the past, and had no problems. this time, i found out because the screen would lock up, it would simply close down, and all sorts of other general nastiness. so, on the advice of a friend who builds 'puters, i chased down and deleted every sign of norton, then did a hard drive reformat, a clean reinstall of windows (win 2000 pro), and installed just the basics of what i needed to get up up, running and on-line, i.e. all hardware drivers, dsl software, mcafee anti-virus and personal firewall plus, webroot spy sweeper, office 2000 pro, nero, and finepix software (for digital camera).
    i attempted to re-install the data that i had backed up before the reformat, but had some problems doing that. it seems that the beast didn't want to let me do it, as i was not authorized to do so. i'm the administrator, and the only person that does anything at all to the beast, so i got annoyed. the only other user is my husband. (i don't think that the woodchuck that we had in the house for two or three days while this was going on had anything to do with it. long story...) i managed to work around this, and got to the files that i really needed right then. i still haven't gotten them all re-installed.
    i then left town on 1 july and came home 3 august. phil said no problems with it while i was gone. i immediately updated mcafee, spy sweeper and windows. the beast ran fine for about 2 or 3 days, then started to misbehave. it would lock up; not even CTL-ALT-DEL would work. then, while on-line, the screen would just disappear and throw me back to the desktop. a day or two after this, i started having even more problems. in addition to the aforementioned ones, the beast would lock up, then i would get an error message, telling me that M/S I/E has encountered a problem and needs to close. the error message is below. even with help from HansV and Leif, i can't get the picture to print here; sorry.
    some times, i would send it, sometimes, not. it only happened once or twice the first time, then it escalated. now, it happens constantly. there are times when it will go 5, 10, maybe 15 minutes without it, then it will pop up every 5 to 10 seconds, or every time I/E restarts, not even giving me a chance to shut down whatever i may be using or doing at the time. at times, the beast will simply lock up, and the only way out is to shut down, or restart.
    this happens all over the
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: error message

    Unfortunately, that error message is only a generic "something went wrong" message, it does not provide any specific information.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: error message

    When you clean re-installed Win2K, did you also let MS do all the updates? You mentioned SpySweeper, but I would go a couple of additional steps. I would install AdAware, Spybot and Spyware Blaster as well. You should probably run AdAware and Spybot two or three times each, in succession, for sometimes it takes multiple runs to make sure it doesn't find anything. I'm a little nervous about the McAfee AV and firewall since I'm out of touch with that product, so you might want to keep an eye on it for awhile to make sure it's behaving.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,609
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 623 Times in 557 Posts

    Re: error message

    If you applied all the August patches from Microsoft see Microsoft patch can cause IE trouble | Tech News on ZDNet.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: error message

    As long as I remember, after clean install of Windows 2000 (Win2k), you must update IE to v.6.0 SP-1, and then install SP-4 (if it is not already integrated to your installation CD), then apply all security patches for Win2k, rebooting computer after each step. It is also recommended to install printers before Office installation and install Antivirus and the firewall as the last step of basic installation.


    Please open Event Viewer (click Start | Run, type EVENTVWR and hit Enter), found your errors under Application and System, double-click each of them and post error descriptions - it will help to troubleshoot your problem. Remember, it will be a lot of similar errors with different date and time stamps - just post only one of the kind, please.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    the great white north..., Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: error message

    yes, al, i did. i will download, and install, the programs that you mentioned. i've not used them before, but i will now. i forgot to mention it before, but i am also running popup manager, but was using it before, and had not problems with it. i'm also unfamiliar with mcafee, having always used norton, but i figured that i'd do it his way for once, what with all the help that he's given me over the years. thanks for your help. i'll post later and let you know how it comes out. take care and God bless.
    smiles-
    ladyleadfoot!!!

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    the great white north..., Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: error message

    hello joe!

    thanks for the article. yes, i did apply all the patches that were existent when i got home, and have run the updates once or twice since then. i guess that, according to kaplinb, the problem was caused by me, since i am running SP4 for win 2000, and IE 6 with SP1. i'll have to contact M/S to get the fix. this is the first time that i have had an update cause me grief. well, when i do it, i do it right. will post when i get everything sorted out, or if i need more help, whichever comes first. thanks again. take care and God bless.

    smiles-
    ladyleadfoot!!!

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    the great white north..., Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: error message

    'lo kaplinb!

    well, i don't remember if i did everything in that order (wish that i had known that there was a required order!), but i do know that i rebooted between installations. i definitely did the printer before office. i always do all drivers before any software packages. i listed the installations in the order i remembered them. as i mentioned to joe, i am running win 2000 with SP4 (i use the original disk for the installation, and the service packs come when i do the updates), and IE 6 with SP1 (same with IE. i believe IE5 is what comes with win 2000, then anything else is because of updates). sorry that i didn't mention this info at the time; i'm still enough of a neophyte not to realize that that info was important.

    i checked the event log, as you requested, and this is what happened. as soon as i hit enter, i got the following message: The event log file is corrupt and there was a big <font color=red>X</font color=red> over the system log. i checked each of the individual logs, and this is what i found. the security log was blank. the system log was blank, with this message at the top of it: Unable to read the contents of this event log. for he application log, all incidents of IE say error next to them, with event codes of mostly 1000, and an occasional 1001. these started on 9 august 2006. there are warnings for ASP.NET 1.1.4322.0 (event code 0f 1020) and load perf (event code of 3009). if you want, i will copy one of each of these in full if you need them. there were so many for IE that i wasn't sure how many you needed. for the warnings, i wasn't sure if you wanted them at all. please let me know, and i will gladly provide you with whatever you need.

    thanks for being so specific. there are a lot of things in the underlayers of the beast that i have either no idea that exist, or no idea what to do with them if i do even know what they are! thanks again for your help. take care and God bless.

    smiles-
    ladyleadfoot!!!

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: error message

    ladyleadfoot,

    I would recommend to perform your hard drive check immediately. To do so, click Start | Run, type

    chkdsk /r

    (there us a space between "chkdsk" and "/r") and hit Enter. Then on pop-up window confirm your choice and restart the computer.
    Disk check will take a while, please be patient. Of course, you can use "/f" switch instead of "/r" (three-stages check instead of five-stages) - it will be faster. The choice is yours.

    Then fix your event log:
    Fix Corrupt Event Log Files
    If it will not work, follow this:
    How to Delete Corrupt Event Viewer Log Files

    Then try to open Internet Explorer, close it and look for new events.
    Please post description (not only event ID) for any new errors since restart after disk checking.

    Sincerely,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •