Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

SP2 Failure (Office 2003 Pro)

I've tried downloading and installing Office SP2 a couple of times. It takes about a half an hour or so and then informes me that the update failed. Any suggestions? I have a fully licensed copy of Office.

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Re: SP2 Failure (Office 2003 Pro)

When you download, do you save it on disk first then run it from there?

If it still fails you may have to uninstall Office 2003 and re-install it, then apply the saved SP2.

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

I first tried the standard Office Update which didn't work. Then I downloaded SP2 to my HD and tried it from there -- got the attached error messagel.

I may have to take your alternate suggestion to uninstall/reinstall. I worries me, though, as to what if anything I might lose.

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

I'm no expert on Office uninstall/reinstall but it should be ok.

Maybe needs a expert to confirm.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Do you also have an antivirus program active? That definitely interferes with service pack installations. Turn off any antivirus or antispyware and any firewalls except the built-in Windows firewall before you begin the installation from the disk. If that worries you, you can disconnect from the internet while you're doing it.
    Charlotte

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Charlotte,

Tried turning off AV and anti-spyware, then start the installationl I end up with the same error message reported before.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Try installing the latest Windows Installer and/or the full-file install of SP2. Links for both can be found in <!mskb=906323>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 906323<!/mskb>.

Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

I have the latest Installer version and I suppose I could try installing the full version although I have my original CDs, so I shouldn't have to.