Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    We have had to re-install Project on a laptop. Now the user cannot record macros anymore. Error message:
    Error accessing file. Network connection may have been lost.
    KB has nothing on the subject.
    The program resides on the C: drive and the user is administrator on his own laptop.

    Thanks for any help!

    Does anybody have any idea what to do about that error?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    Have you installed SP2 for Project 2003?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    242
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    No, I have sp1, the user probably the same. I work for a large oil company - we are not allowed to install software except through our helpless desk!
    Is this an issue that is fixed with sp2? If so, I will get the user to request the patch.

    Thanks Hans!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    I think it's worth a try. In <!mskb=842315>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 842315<!/mskb>, Microsoft states that a similar problem for PowerPoint 2003 has been fixed in SP2.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    Before you reinstall search the PC for a file named Global.mpt and delete all instances before reinstalling. I have seen this problem on reinstall. The location of the Global.mpt is set in the registry and sometimes if it is not located you get errors.

    Carla

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Error recording macros (Project 2003)

    If I remember correctly, when installing project, you have the ability to select to install the VBA portion as well. If you do not select this feature, you will not be able to access macros, VBA, etc. I believe this happened to our users when reinstalling project and the users were unable to access the VBA editor after re-installation was complete (when they could before). HTH
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •