Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger miladytn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Problems with ZA Security Suite

    I'm pulling my hair out, <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> literally! and ready to throw this machine out the window. A few days ago, we downloaded and installed ZoneAlarm Security Suite, version 6.5.722.000. One computer is XP Home straight out of the box, no updates, nothing. The other computer is XP Pro, SP1 with the WMF patch and only the minimal that was necessary to get that patch. No problems whatsoever on the XP Home comp. The XP Pro comp, however, is what is making me pull my hair out !! Webpages won't load, or don't load correctly, and its "slower than molasses in January". The only way I've been able to get webpages to load at all is to fiddle with/adjust individual privacy settings, mostly 'mobile code' and 'private header', for specific websites. Setup was the same on both computers.

    Another thing that gets on my nerves is the "remember this setting" option. ZA defaults to that setting with the box checked. I don't want it checked. I want it unchecked but can find no dafault for that.

    The ZA forums have been no help at all on either issue.

    You folks are great and, IMHO, know everything in the world!! So, please help!! <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

    ARGGGGG!!! <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15> I had to adjust 3 settings just to be able to preview and post this message! <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    I don't have ZA so I cannot help you with that, but as an interim measure until you get relevant replies, you could turn off ZA and turn on the built-in Windows XP firewall (aka Internet Connection Firewall). See How to turn on or turn off the firewall in Windows XP for details.
    I strongly recommend installing Windows XP SP-2 on both PCs as soon as possible; it is a lot more secure than the original release or SP-1.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    Many sites expect or even require that you accept and return cookies, and provide "user agent" information. For some, JavaScript is used to display menus, or even to display anything except a dumb page of keywords designed for search engines. (Being a user of the NoScript extension for Firefox, I am discovering just how totally web developers have come to depend on the availability of JavaScript.)

    You didn't mention installing Service Pack 2 (SP2) for Windows XP. That should be part of your basic set-up routine. Although in the early days there were compatibility problems, pretty much all major security software has been rewritten to coordinate smoothly with the SP2 Security Center.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger miladytn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    Thanks guys. Yes I understand the issues with SP2 and have given that a lot of thought. What I want to know is why one comp has no probs and the other one does. Crapola! I'm going back to Win98!!! LOL j/k

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    I concur with Jefferson on this. You really need to get both machines at least patched up to SP2. I would actually recommend that you get all the critical updates to date except Windows Genuine Advantage. I am also not a ZA Security Suite user (just the excellent, <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> firewall), but would imagine that there are some basic setting that you need to adjust to allow certain programs and utilities that always have had access to the internet to continue to do so. The ZA firewall has this option when you first install it, so I would imagine that the Security Suite has similar options. Check the Program Control settings on the firewall.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    W A I T ! ! ! !

    DON'T GO BACK TO W98SE <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Although I don't use the Security Suite (Like Doc I use the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ZA) - I did notice originally the "Remeber this setting" box came up with the box checked - now they do not (Using on XP Pro machine). I

    I kept unchecking the box. I also updated ZA a couple of times and had SP 2 installed (new machine ~3 months ago).

    NOTE:I have certain programs that I require to ALWAYS ask for permission (Browser FF, Browser IE, Windows Explore).

    Since you have the Paid version of ZA, can you write a E-Mail to the support department and get an answer that way ?
    Scott

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger miladytn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    153
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    *chuckle* No worry, Scott. I wont be going back to Win98. Although I do miss it. But I also miss DOS, Win95, and 3.1.1. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I totally understand the argument for keeping the comp updated, as my IT folks at work insist upon.

    I have found one thing that helped, or fixed, the problem. Cookies! and Ad Blocking! When I compared the 2 comps, I discovered that cookies/ad blocking was totally enabled on one comp and not the other comp in the ZA settings. Looks like I will have to depend on browser settings for those things instead of ZA.

    I well see how things go and report back.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problems with ZA Security Suite

    Congrats on solving the problem <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

    <hr>But I also miss DOS, Win95, and 3.1.1.<hr>
    WFW ?!?!?!? E Gads !!!! I resisted WFW for so long the company had changed over to W95 <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> - THEN I accepted WFW <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17>I'm STILL an old DOS head at heart.

    I miss W98 to, this is why I keep at least one W98SE machine at home for "GUESTS" to use (I call it the IAD-Internet Access Device). Thus I have , er, fewer worries about what is done on that machine.
    Scott

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •