Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Does anyone have a favorite way of doing "Print Table of Links", in Firefox?
    I usually use "View this page in IE" (using IE View), or IE Tab (using that extension)
    and then just use that feature the IE way.
    I wonder what alternatives folks have used? Anyone?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Beautiful! Many thanks, Jscher.
    If someone has a solution to the non-wrapping problem, this might be one place to refer to it.
    Meanwhile, this is what I'll use, and it's so convenient compared with shifting to the IE engine each time.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Whoops. I just noticed an additional problem with this bookmarklet. (I'm using the first of the two bookmarklets invented in the thread
    that Jefferson has referred to. The problem is that I get a page that can't be maximized and the bottom of the page is cutting off the list
    of links and their text, in a random place. I get the same effect with the second of the two bookmarklets =??
    ADDED LATER: If I actually print, all the links do appear on the page. So, the main disadvantage due to the relatively small window (if the list
    is long) is that one can't make a selection from a long list (for "print selection") unless it's near the beginning.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    You should get a normal browser window, but perhaps it depends on the type of window you started from?? Also, if you always view the status bar, you should always be able to resize a window. Just uncheck a box here: Tools>Options..., Content section, Advanced button to the right of Enable JavaScript (clear the one for hiding the status bar).

    I don't use the "original" bookmarklet, so maybe it works a bit differently, but hopefully not with respect to the type of window it opens.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Unfortunately, I can't get a normal browser window, and can't resize it by clicking on maximize, or by dragging the frame.
    And, I've tried it on a variety of webpages. The result is always the same. No scrollbar.
    There were actually three javascripts in the thread mentioned, and I tried the 2nd and 3rd, not having noticed the first.
    The Tools>Options etc suggestion actually matches what I already had (the box indicated was unchecked).
    However, I've noticed that I can scroll up and down using the up-down arrows!! I hadn't realized.
    That allows me to highlight a block for "print selection".
    It's possible that my FF has some more subtle setting or some extension that produces the results I've described.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    First a dummy question: In your latest attachment, one of the text files seems to be the same as what you posted earlier and I used it on my home page. More on that in a minute. The other text file has TWO groups of javascript text that seem to be alike. Did I miss something in your post or what?

    Now, the attached screenshot is a composite of three screenshots. The largest is a crop of my domain page ( http://www.alhoffman.org/ ) on which I have a "hidden" link, indicated by the tiny red box. When I run your first bookmarklet from above, I get a page of links that include the first crop of boxed text, showing the "Go" from yesterday. However, using your latest revised bookmarklet, for some reason this link now shows up without any clickable URL. It's certainly tolerable but I wondered why your revised code doesn't pick it up?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 31-Aug-06 17:21. Updated Attachment.)</P>A similar request came up on the Mozillazine boards. A couple of us developed different "bookmarklets" which would spring open a new page listing the links from the current page. Here's that thread: On "Page Info > Links", saving Name and Address @ MozillaZine Forums.

    If you haven't used a bookmarklet before, they are added a bit differently in IE and Fx. In Fx, you can use Bookmarks>Manage Bookmarks..., click where you want to put the Bookmarklet, then click the New Bookmark button. Name it what you like, and paste the JavaScript source code into the Location area. For Description, I usually paste an address to the source page. (In case I need to go back and complain, of course. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> )

    Added: I notice in testing on this page that the links do not wrap if the URL is too wide to fit on the page. This is normal because Fx, unlike IE, does not break long "words." I'm not sure of the best solution for this.

    Added Even Later: There is no reason for my "Go!" links to print when printing this page, so I edited one of the bookmarklets to suppress those (using CSS). The resulting code is a bit wide to post here, so please see the attached (Grab Links 3).

    Added Later Still: I noticed some problems in dealing with different pages I tested, and have attempted to solve them in the latest two flavors of the bookmarklet, which can be found in the attached. Note that these are not compatible with Internet Explorer, and run more slowly than the simple version (e.g., 30 seconds for the home page of Google News!). The principal issues addressed: (1) <wbr> tags inserted in various locations to allow for wrapping of long URLs; (2) use of background images or fields of color as a link are detected properly; (3) Active link is more logical; (4) option to capture the "onclick" code in one of the bookmarklets (sometimes this is more relevant than the "href" information).

    Note: To save the page of links, right click the page, choose View Page Source, and save from that window. Saving from the File menu on the browser window might save the original page or some mish-mash of the two.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 31-Aug-06 17:30. Added attachment with the fix mentioned.)</P>> In your latest attachment, one of the text files seems to be the same as what you posted earlier and I used it on my home page.

    Yes, the original version is included along with the slower new ones.

    > The other text file has TWO groups of javascript text that seem to be alike. Did I miss something in your post or what?

    One of the new ones reproduces the sometimes-long scripts that run if the link has an "onclick" event handler. The other one simply lets you know if there is such a handler. If you test on the yahoo.com home page you can see the difference. Edit: Actually, it was so late at night that I pasted the same bookmarklet twice. Sheesh.

    > using your latest revised bookmarklet, for some reason this link now shows up without any clickable URL.

    It's an exception to an exception in the script. (I.e., it isn't text, and it doesn't contain an image tag), so it wasn't covered by the regular code that makes the visible text or image clickable. I can add a link behind the [Background...] notation on the next revision.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Hate to be such a pain, but I grabbed this attachment twice to make sure I didn't do a bad download. I made a bookmarklet for each of the swatches of script in the file called List Links Bookmarklets v2.txt. I tried them both on several different pages and the second (the "onclick" one?) takes my browser here: http://www.java-scripts.net/javascripts/Di...ument-URL.phtml no matter what page I'm looking at to start with. Is there something wrong with my end? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> I've looked at that code (in spite of not understanding javascript) and can't find any of this link mentioned in there. I'm helpless - or should that be hapless...

    Edited after additional investigation: Although I've been using the text file to make my bookmarklets, I opened the properties of the internet shortcut version and pasted that in to the same file I had put the text version. There are several differences, including the absence of the HTTP:// at the beginning of the text file. There are also some slash and backslash differences in the two, but oddly enough, BOTH respond to me the same erroneous way if I execute them. I'll wait for your review and comments.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 02-Sep-06 01:34. New attachment.)</P>You probably have the Google "lucky" search run when an invalid URL is entered. Somehow I got the URL= at the beginning, which should not be there. (Fix attached.)

    Added: I decided it would be useful to to also list any image map links. It was too complex to display the relevant part of the image, or even the relevant image, so for those I just list the URLs. The problem with all these additional functions is that it runs slower and slower. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Thanks. Let me give this one a try.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Thanks very much, Jefferson! That issue works for me - no more "problem" page and the tweaking you did with the title tips is very nice. I put both the regular and onclick versions in my Fx personal toolbar (in a folder) so I can use the onclick version when necessary. As you can imagine, it's not something that a user like me needs every day, but oh boy, when you need it, this will sure come in handy.

    By the way, on my system it's not slow at all. I tried both the regular AND the onclick version on my domain, the Lounge and the Yahoo page and none took more than 2-3 seconds. Of course, caching may have had some impact on that, but it's fast in my book. Thanks again for a nice "tool."

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Concerning your screen sizing problem, have you tried Jefferson's version he attached to his post just above? I can't help but wonder if his latest improvements would be of help to you.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    In answer to Al's query:
    I tried Jefferson's latest, which is nice, but, the screen sizing (can't maximize screen) and navigation (no scrollbar) are unchanged.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: how 'print table of links' in FF? (FF 1.5)

    Does the following work? It typically duplicates the current window style with respect to sizing and features available:
    <hr><code><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>New Window</title>
    </head>
    <body>


    <a href="java script:w=window.open(); w.document.write('<html><body>

    Test</p></body></html>'); w.document.close();">Pop Window</a></p></p>
    </body>
    </html></code><hr>
    If you still get a feature-limited window, I wonder whether it could be related to an extension?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •