Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    This is frustrating because I figured it out by myself once but now can't remember how I did it. I want to print a long report that has 3 columns but the paper has room for 6 columns so I would like these 3 to repeat on the same page. I looked at all the properties of the other report I did but can't seem to find what setting I'm missing.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    You mean you have three fields of data and you want to snake the three fields so that it will begin at the top of the same page after it fills up the first three positions?

    Set the report width itself to the width of the three fields. Then in the page setup for the report, select the columns tab and set the number of columns to 2. This is report columns, not fields, so don't get confused. Set your column layout to down then across, and your report will print to the bottom of the page and then start in the column 2 position at the top of the same page.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    I have the file at work so I can't try it again tonight but when I did this before I did as you described EXCEPT I didn't change the page width. In the other report I did this with I didn't either and it worked fine. Does it matter how the report was made at all? In this I mean does it matter if the data comes all from one table vs a query? Or for that matter how I make the report initially (report wizard vs design). ?

    Thanks much Charlotte!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    It will work without changing the page width if you set the column widths properly in the pagesetup. If you're lazy, you can cheat by setting the page width to the width of the column, and page setup will fill in the blanks automatically. The wizard does that for you as well.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    I want to add that I just played with another database here and did what you suggested and it worked except it doesn't print the header information again above the three new columns. In another database I built I was able to pull it off somehow.

    So I may be a little more clear I want to have a list of three fields: Name Dept Ext but want it to appear like:
    Name Dept Ext Name Dept Ext
    bob sales 5 jim sales 6

    not like this
    Name Dept Ext
    bob sales 5 jim sales 6

    Thanks again!

    Jim

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    You have to make the header span the width of the page, so you have to repeat your labels over the second column.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report Columns (2000 SR-1)

    Thanks for your help! Worked great!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •