Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I just set up two hard disks as raid 0, I just wonder if my computer die, (mother board failed etc) Can I use other computer to set up raid 0 without losing the data on them?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    Joe,
    As long as the other computer can accept RAID HDs, I don't see why you can't move them over to the other machine, as long as you set them up the same as the first computer, that is.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I agree with Bob with one caveat, if the replacement MB's are similar enough so drivers (ex 4in1, video) will work when initially booting with the Raid 0 drives. After initial boot, you can always download the MB, video, sound, etc drivers based on the new configuration.

    Worst case, you may need to add a new Hard Drive initially and put the Raid 0 drives as Non-Boot drives. Once everything is up and running, you can then remove the initial drive.

    Bottom line, make sure you have the updated drivers available on the new MB if you need to transfer the Raid 0 drives to a new machine and you should be able to reover from any situation.
    Scott

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    Thank you. That will make me feel safe!

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    When I setup this raid 0 , It stated it will delete all the data in the hard drives. So if I create the raid 0 in other computer, I worry about it will do the same thing.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I think there is a serious risk that you won't be able to read this data on another computer.

    Firstly: different controllers may chose different Stripe Sizes. So one raid controller may put blocks 0-127 on disk 1, then blocks 1-255 on disk 2, and the other may look for blocks 0-255 on disk 1, blocks 256-511 on disk 2.

    Secondly: RAID controllers store metadata on the RAID disks, saying what RAID level and giving other vital information. I don't believe there are standards for this so there is no reason one model of RAID controller will be able to recognise another's metadata.

    For example, if you look at this description of a particular RAID controller you will see that it supports
    <UL><LI>DRM. (Drive Roaming Metadata) technology
    <UL><LI>Supports drive roaming to any port on the controller
    <LI>Allows array roaming in the event of controller failure[/list][/list]but I bet the "array roaming" means that you can move it to another identical controller.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I have used Promise Technology Inc controllers before and never paid attention to the:
    DRM. (Drive Roaming Metadata) technology
    -- Supports drive roaming to any port on the controller
    -- Allows array roaming in the event of controller failure

    Initial checking resulted in implying this works with other Promise RAID Controllers. Even Promise Technology Inc Website didn't really have much to say on this other than your quote. I am going to do a little more investigating and will reply back if I find anything out.

    Your post also poses another question, joe88888 never specified whether he was using RAID Software only or RAID Controller. The more secure way is with a seperate RAID Controller, but I have used RAID Software only when using a MB with RAID Enabled support for hard drives (i.e. on board RAID controller). My earlier response was geared towards using similar or same MB and software configurations.

    A final thought/reminder - RAID 0 does NOT provide backup of the data. The data is spread out between 2 or more drives to allow faster access to the data. Gamers love this option as well as some programmers I know who modify large audio/video files.

    Using a RAID 0+1 configuration requires double the number of drives in a RAID 0 configuration, but mirrors all the data from one set of RAID 0 configured drives to the other set of RAID 0 drives. There is also the option of backing up the data from a RAID 0 configured drives to another medium, but you need to ensure you use a backup software compatible for RAID 0 configured drives.
    Scott

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    If he took the RAID-0 disks and the RAID controller card to the new PC, and installed the appropriate RAID software on it, surely it would work?

    John

    PS If the RAID controller was built-in to the original motherboard, then that's another story...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    > If he took the RAID-0 disks and the RAID controller card to the new PC, and installed the appropriate RAID software on it, surely it would work?

    I would expect it to. BUT if this were my data I would want to test that it actually worked in practice, and I would still want to have proper backups anyway.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I have a built in raid controller card. So if other computer has difference controller then It will not automatically reconize the old raid 0 setup and need to create a new setup?

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I think that this is very likely to be the case, you would have to test it to be absolutely sure.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    I'm backing Stuart's gut instinct on this one; I've had problems with an embedded controller recognizing an existing array from within the same system. What you should remember is that you are no longer using a simple disk, you're creating the illusion of one through hardware and software. You no longer have a discreet, single unit where your information is stored.
    -Mark

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: raid 0 disks can be read from other computer?

    Having recently done this, I can comment as follows:
    My old machine had 2 RAID arrays, both running off controllers embedded in the motherboard:
    1. A 2xSATA RAID0 array (Intel controller)
    2. A 2xPATA RAID1 array (either Silicon RAID or GigaRAID controller, I forget)

    When the motherboard died, I luckily had a spare one lying around with onboard Intel RAID and Promise RAID.
    I moved the RAID0 array across with no problems at all, so it would seem identical controllers work seamlessly. (I say no problems - obviously Windows re-activation was required!)
    The RAID1 array I had to rebuild but there was an option to build the array by copying the data from 1 disk to the other (they assume you have a failed array and want to rebuild with a new disk). The individual disks were also recognised by Windows if I just plugged one of them in to back up the data (I know, I know, should have done it before! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>)
    At the end of the day, as long as you backup your data, you have nothing to worry about. And if you're really worried about data loss, don't use RAID0! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    HTH
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •