Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    I'm beginning to struggle for space on my C: drive, and don't have time to do a full repartition and reinstall at the moment. The $NTUninstall.... folders in my Windows directory now total several hundred megabytes, and moving these would give some much needed breathing space. Where are the pointers that would allow me to uninstall a pack if I move this folder, and is there any way to set the default location for future hotfixes to a folder other than c:Windows?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    It's probably not easy to change the location - there are oodles of registry items referring to the current location of the $NTUninstall* folders

    As an alternative, you could move these folders to another drive or to CD or DVD. If you need to uninstall a patch, which hopefully doesn't occur frequently, you can move the relevant folder(s) back.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by JohnGray on 09-Sep-06 17:25. to agree with Hans!)</P>By sheer accident I am in the early stages of compiling a guide for work about which Windows (XP or 2003) folders/directories and files can be removed from the system/boot drive (usually C:Windows), and I will post what I've done so far on Monday. I am trying to find authoritative sources which say that "Yes, this folder can be deleted", or the opposite, but this is sometimes proving difficult. I'd rather avoid the posts from John Doe (15) who says something like, "yeh that floder can be remved ok"

    I would suggest you use a "what is the 'size' of each directory" program like the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> Treesize, which will show you precisely that. Obviously the folders to aim for are those which have the largest amount of data!

    You may find that the largest directory is System Volume Information, and you can reduce that by going to Control Panel -> System -> System Restore, clicking on the drive and then on the Settings button. Move the slider towards the left as far as you want. (The machine I'm working on says 1%, 4758 MB, but Treesize tells me the actual size is 7965 MB! Go figure)

    Another possibility is compressing some of the hotfix/update-related directories (those $NtUninstall...$ ones are already compressed). For example, you could compress C:Windows$hf_mig$ and C:WindowsServicePackFiles to about 60-65% of their original disk space usage. But don't delete them!

    You can delete all the $NtUninstall...$ directories if you wish, and others of similar format, like $MSI31...$, together with the much smaller but annoying log files C:WindowsKB??????.log and C:WindowsQ??????.log. This presumes that you don't think you will ever have to uninstall those hot fixes, so just do the ones older than, say, three months.

    More stuff later...

    John

    PS Rereading all this, you may prefer to move the $NtUninstall...$ directories to another drive, as Hans suggests!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    >> ... early stages of compiling a for work about which Windows (XP or 2003) folders/directories and files can be removed from the system/boot drive (usually C:Windows) ...

    FANTASTIC ! ! ! <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

    TIA for any and all listings concerning this area. If I find any useful information I will pass that along to you.

    Now, the question: I use some pretty good registry cleaners. If you move or delete (or compress ?!??!?) the $NTUninstall subdirectories and run a registry cleaner, will cleaner not flag the Registry and uninstal items as being NA and delete them ?

    I realize that you could probably exclude the items from the Registry Cleaner Scanning process once you ID them, but that sounds almost as bad (based on Han's post of registry references).
    Scott

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    There is also a handy utility to "Remove Hotfix Backups" from Doug Knox.
    It will remove the hotfixes for the OS and also in the AddRemove list.

    Download it HERE
    It's listed under Windows XP Utilities.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    Compressing the directories/folder won't affect any information in the Registry.

    Deleting or moving stuff could make the corresponding registry entries either wrong or redundant. That doesn't really worry me much, since the information is not likely to be required again, unless you wish to uninstall a hot fix, in which case you would need to return the $NtUninstall...$ directory/ies to its/their original location in C:Windows.

    I occasionally use (in IE) the Windows Live Onecare scanner (just the Clean Up button for Temporary Files and the Registry -- the full Disk Scan can take hours)...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    Bob

    That looks like a really useful tool, if somewhat limited in scope of what could be got rid of! (Nothing about Windows Server 2003, though...)

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    John,
    Apparently not. The note with it stated:
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    NOTE: This utility does NOT remove application specific hotfix backups (Internet Explorer, Outlook Express, Media player and etc.). It will only remove hotfix backups that are specific to the Windows XP operating system.
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    Thanks - for my needs at the moment, I think I will just compress the directories and keep an eye out. The main computer I was worried about only has a 10GB hard drive. But I am going to swap that with a 40GB within a few days.
    Scott

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    You may want to get a larger one yet, if you plan on going to Vista, as it will work on a 40GB drive but a 60-100 would be best to get the performance that you may want.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    Thanks very much.

    It's actually the $hf_mig$ and $NTServicePackUninstall$ that are the only folders of significant size. Are these ever used except in the event of wanting to uninstall? Would it be safe to move them?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    Do not remove $hf_mig$. It is used in the Windows Update process. The others you can remove if you are sure you'll not want to uninstall that specific hotfix (service packs included).

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    DaveA,

    I opened a new thread in <post#= 598,115>post 598,115</post#> to continue this line - I have a couple of questions and don't want to polute this thread anymore than I have.

    Any comments, suggestions, etc would be welcome.
    Scott

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Change hotfix backup location (SP2)

    See my reply over there <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •