Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    New thread started from my reply at Windows XP Post <!post=Change hotfix backup location (SP2) ,598065>Change hotfix backup location (SP2) <!/post> to which DaveA responded with <post#= 598,073>post 598,073</post#>
    <hr>You may want to get a larger one yet, if you plan on going to Vista, as it will work on a 40GB drive but a 60-100 would be best to get the performance that you may want.<hr>

    Dave - I usually like to use a smaller drive for the OS and a second drive for the data. I had originally planned to have the 40GB fro the "C:" Drive and at lease a 100GB for the "D:" drive. I also use the "D:" drive for a backup for certain Windows system drivers, Office files that must be on "C:" Drive (Ex Outlook rules, templates, etc).

    The more I read about Vista and the changes it MAY have versus what they intended it to have, what are your suggestions concerning minimum requirements. With the new file system, is a single large drive better than my "old" setup ?

    I had a chance to be a Vista Beta tester at one point but did not have the time, money, or energy at the time (to many irons in the fire so to speak).

    Any comments would be appreciated.

    <big>NOTE:</big> I could not decide whether to put this post in Hardware or General windows solutions. I decided on General Windows Solutions because the bottom line is what are the best hardware setup fro VISTA OS Performance. If moderators feel this needs to be placed in Hardware - I appologize in advance and please move.

    THANKS !
    Scott

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    In general one will find that the OS is total different. Most of these so called performance tricks will not work with Vista. I have found that a single larger drive (No partitions) gives me the best performance. That said, a second drive to save backups and or images to is great, I use a external USB drive.

    More and more PROGRAMs have and will require that files be written to the OS drive as they have been in the past. The use of a separate drive for the "Pagefile" does NOT improve performance and may even reduce it. The use of saving data to the second drive is not as easy as it is on XP and earlier OSs. The new security tightens things down which makes it harder to do a lot of the "Tricks" we are use to doing, but new ones will be found <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    I have it installed on my Sony VAIO laptop in a 35GIG partition and works fine but slow. When I have the full 80GIG drive (single partition) the performance was so much better. I have both XP and Vista as I need XP at times when I travel and do presentations.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    <hr>The use of a separate drive for the "Pagefile"...<hr>
    <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> If I left you with this impression <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>.

    I ALWAYS keep the pagefile on the same disk as the OS - with one exception. One to two times a year I will move the pagefile to an alternate drive, reboot, delete the pagefile on the OS Disk, run defrag, move the pagefile back to OS disk, reboot, then delete pagefile from alternate disk. I only do this procedure on the systems I use extensively where the pagefile gets so fragmented and large, I need to "purge" and start over.

    As for the rest - <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>.

    You are confirming my suspicions that I will need to change the way I like (read comfortable) to setup my systems.

    I have the Microsoft Windows Vista home page and Microsoft TechNet Windows Vista home page booked marked (along with getting several of the newsletters). I will have to wait and see what transpires before I leap into making the Vista decision (although I probably will).

    As for new tricks to be found - I highly suspect this forum will be a good place to find them.
    Scott

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    Now that you've had the chance to "kick the tyres" on the final version of the product for a while....: <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    >I have it installed on my Sony VAIO laptop in a 35GIG partition and works fine but slow.

    Could you say what the Chip MHz & RAM specifications are on your VAIO?

    >The use of saving data to the second drive is not as easy as it is on XP and earlier OSs.

    Roughly how many Gb are being taken up by each of the various non-Data types of stuff at the moment? (From the M$ specifications, it could appear that of their 20/40Gb requirements - 15Gb is meant for various Sys items & 5/25Gb for Programs & Data, but that may be a misinterpretation.
    Gre

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    The Chip is a Pentium 4CPU 3.2 GHz, with one GIG of RAM shared with the onboard graphic device.

    I have Office 2007 Home and Students, Family Tree Maker 16, Legacy 6, Acronis TI 10, Adobe Reader 7.0, Home Site 5.0, MS Digital Image 2006, OneCare, PrintKey2000, Raxco PerfectDisk 8.0, CanoScan (for the scanner) and Corel Paint Shop Pro 10.

    I did NOT take a shot when I first installed Vista Ultimate.
    As you can see in the attachment I have used 23 GB of 35 GB of the D drive.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    That's very interesting - a more powerful spec on the VAIO than the ThinkPad (P4 2.0 GHz w/ 1Gb {space for 2Gb} RAM - 64Mb ATI FIRE GL) on which I can "find" 40Gb HD space.

    It sounds like I can find better uses for my time than clearing out, repartitioning & installing my copy of Vista - spare cash being heavily prioritised elsewhere. (I have no serious alternative place to run WinXP.) Does that appear to be a sound conclusion?
    Gre

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VISTA Requirements dictates what hardware ?

    Scott,

    Like Dave, I use PerfectDisk 8.50 which I would highly recommend to you since you can do an "Offline Defrag" which defrags your pagefile along with meta data and some other areas of the HDD which the regular defrag process doesn't and can't do. This would save you the time and trouble you currently go through as you described re: your pagefile. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •