Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't see computers that ARE there

    I have my PC and my wife's laptop connected to a router and networked. I've recently added a Maxtor networked hard drive to do backups to, and after a bit of fiddling, got it to appear on the network too. I don't know if the following problem occurred immediately after that, but I've only just noticed it. In My Network Places, I only see the various users' folders on the networked hard drive, and in the Entire Network, in MSHOME, I only see the networked hard drive. Previously all the computers in the workgroup were visible there. If I search for lindaslaptop Windows finds it perfectly well and says that it is in MSHOME, and I have access to it OK. But it stubbornly refuses to appear if I explore MSHOME. Once I have found it, it appears in the folder list on the left in Windows Explorer, but still won't appear in the pane on the right, as the screenshot below shows. The same happens in reverse if she looks for my PC from her laptop.

    Why?

    Ian

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there

    Your computer should also be listed.
    What changes did you make to your firewall?
    You may have blocked the computers from each other.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there

    Yes, I had expected to see my computer there too. I didn't make any changes to the firewall (ZA) because I already have the whole range of IP addresses provided by the router in the trusted zone. I don't seem to have blocked the computers from each other, because I can see them if I search for them by name and I can then add a shortcut to them to My Network Places, and my wife can still print to the printer attached to my PC. They just don't seem to show up in the workgroup, though I have checked that they are in that workgroup.

    Ian

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    Eventually I solved this. I went to Network connections in Control Panel on both computers, looked at Properties and added Service, as below. I don't know why it had worked OK before - possibly installing the network drive, or perhaps a Windows security update (?) had changed something here. Anyway, it works now and I can see my computer, my wife's computer and the network drive in MSHOME. (I don't really understand what I have done, but tinkering around till I found something that works seems to be effective!)

    Ian

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    Ian,

    Now I'm really confused. You can't just add "Service". Clicking OK should take you to another dialogue box where you say what service you want to add.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    Sorry - I abbreveiated the story. That is what it took me to next, I think.

    Ian

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    So what service did you install then?

    StuartR

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    I *think* that it was the service advertising protocol. I now seem to have more things listed than before (see screenshot) and something has made it work. To be honest I was not quite sure what I was doing, so I set a system restore point and then played around a bit!

    Ian

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Can't see computers that ARE there SOLVED

    NWLink and SAP (Service Advertising Protocol) are only used for communication with Netware computers. See for example this article on NWLink Architecture. Sounds highly unlikely to me. Maybe these things are sent to confuse us!

    Anyway, I'm glad you got it working.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •