Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    refresh control panel

    In the continuing cleanup from a virus attack, I just noticed that "Control Panel" has completely lost everything in the Add / remove programs section ( get an empty screen with only add / remove programs at top.

    I have several utilities that still show all of the installed programs my guess is they walk the registry to find them - don't know for sure.

    Is there any way to refresh or get a new copy of "Contol panels" section for Add / Remove Programs?

    Tom

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,611
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 623 Times in 557 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel


  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Joe,

    Wouldn't a registry cleaner (say <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>CCCleaner Version v1.33.382) also find the problem and correct it ? I think my Registry Mechanic Version 5.2 found an error similar to this and corrected it a few weeks ago - just can not remember. Problem is Registry Mechanic is a paid program.
    Scott

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,611
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 623 Times in 557 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Maybe. Just depends on how good it is a detecting the specific issue.

    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Thanks to eveyone who replied - I went thru all of the suggestions and didn't get anything fixed. I currently have 3 reg cleaners on system - including one commercial one and none of them found any problems. I also have "CCleaner" on system and it runs daily.

    Think a new box and win xp pro are required to get everything back to normal

    Tom

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Sometimes, a fresh install is a lot easier than trying to fix things that a nasty has trashed. Almost like a car that nickel and dimes you when it gets older.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •