Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Display problem

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Display problem

    I have a 19" LCD monitor with an ATI Radeon 9550 video card with 256MB Video RAM.

    OCCASIONALY, the display shifts to either the right or left side of the screen by about 3/8". I cannot drag it back to the proper spot. I have found that if I right click the desktop and go to properties>settings, then change the resolution to anything new, apply it but then when it asks if I want to save these settings, I click NO, it will revert back to my original settings and the display is back to normal size and location. I am running at 1280x1024 but it doesn't seem to make any difference by trying another resolution.

    The display will run normally for an undetermined amount of time OK ( no pattern to it ) then shift over to the side again. Temperature doesn't seem to be the culprit and the Video card fan is running fine.

    This is more annoying than troubling to me. If it happened more often maybe it would be more of a priority.

    Ideas?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    Some monitors have a feature that auto-adjusts the monitor to 'fit' into the screen resolution and settings, it is possibly confusing itself, that's all i got...

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    Bingo Danny - I think you hit the nail on the head.

    I was going to suggest looking at the Re-fresh rate. Sometimes it is a manual rate and by adjust ing to a new setting can solve the problem (high as you can go before screen becomes unstable, then back off one setting). If the settings are Optimal, Adapter Default - switch and see if that works. Sometimes my notebook "Optimal" causes me problems, I use the default and take off energy saver (i.e. always on - except in battery mode).

    I also have a dual monitor setup on a 700MHz PC with a 14" LCD and 21" CRT and have to "adjust" the re-fresh rate to stop fluttering from time to time.
    Scott

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    Scott and Danny,

    The Radeon "Catalyst Control Center" that comes with the video card is a pretty complex piece of software.
    I have tried to adjust a number of the settings, including using the default settings and maybe I just haven't come up with the right combination but for the majority of the time the display is right on the money. Then out of the blue that screen shift will occur.

    I suspect an intermittant problem on the Vcard itself but want to definitely make sure before I run out and get another card. ( or live with the occasional shift )
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    Bob,
    You did not say if you are feeding the display with analog or digital signals from the Radeon. Also, are you running a single or dual monitors ? If it is a single monitor what make and model is it? Finally, since it appears I am asking instead of answering questions, how did you determine that temperature was not a factor and what refresh rate are you typically running?

    Inquiring minds want to know,
    Paul

    Paul

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    Paul,

    I am using an analog sig input to a single monitor.
    It is a Vision model FV19B.

    Temp determined by monitoring temp sensors on MB and an external sensor in the case area. Always about 39 degrees C with little or no fluctuation. also a visual check of the SEVEN fans in the box to see if all were operating. ( they are )

    Current refresh rate is at 60 Hertz but have tried 70 and 75 Hertz without any results.
    Video card checked for secure fit in connector and all cables checked and or changed.

    The random nature of this problem makes for a very uncertain solution except by trying something and then waiting to see if it has been behaving itself. For example, it has been fine for the last couple of days without any display shift at all. I an NOT convinced that it is "fixed".
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    I have done a little more checking and am coming to the conclusion you are probably right concerning the card.

    The only other thing I have found (which I think highly UNLIKELY based on your posts to date) is when the shift occurs, try hitting the Degaus Button on the monitor to see if this clears the problem. If so, the indication could be loose connection inside the monitor (this doesn't quite make sense to me), monitor power supply not regulating correctly, video card contacts have oxidation.

    As you are aware, a random problem without a hard failure is hard to nail down. If you have ANY other graphics card you can run for a couple of days, I suggest trying that if the problem becomes more persistant.

    Sorry I could not come up with anything more concrete.
    Scott

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    Scott,
    Thanks for doing more checking on this.

    However, I don't think you are going to see a Degauss button on a <big>LCD </big> monitor. There is certainly none on mine.

    Even a Sub of the card will be a tough one to prove because of the erratic nature of the problem. It can and has gone for an undeterminant amount of time before rearing it's head.

    I keep coming back to the Vcard but I really hate to spring for a new one and then have it happen again. A good Vcard isn't cheap, hence my reluctance.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>
    >> However, I don't think you are going to see a Degauss button on a LCD monitor. There is certainly none on mine.

    I was working two different screens when I posted this. You are correct, but the advice I was provided was the "Reset" button (I have one on the 14" and 19" Princeton LCD's - although the 14" I have to use the monitor's software reset). The advice comes from a friend who manages a PC Repair shop. However, I have not seen an LCD fail very often (usually due to display, dead pixels, or improper power supply hooked to monior).

    I agree you on the Vcard is probably the problem - but without a hard failure, you will drive yourself nuts trying to find the answer. Unfortunately, I think you are ina wait and see. If you know someone with a POST/MB Diagnostic Card you could borrow, you might be able to get some additional answers.
    Scott

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    Bob,
    Here is my best guess. I would be willing to bet money (though not much) that you would not be seeing this problem if you were running a digital feed to the display. I am not familiar with your display, but I suspect you are not running digital because the display does not support it.

    Your symptom is one of a class of symptoms sometimes found when you use an analog signal to feed a fundamentally digital device, the LCD. The first thing that happens when the video signal enters the display is to digitize it because both the addressing and the video input to the column drivers on the display are digital. The other thing that happens is that clock signal, which controls the inputting of the data into the column drivers, is synthesized from the video sync signals

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    Paul,
    The monitor is a dual mode, VGADVI-I ( as is the Vcard ) and I have tried digital and VGA modes. I think at this point I am in need of a scorecard to see just what combinations I have or haven't tried. Due to the uncertain time intervals involved, it's hard to determine if it's cured or just waiting to happen again.

    Right now I'm running VGA 60 hertz, 1280x1024 and it been fine for about 2 or 3 days now. ( where is my scorecard? )

    As to your things to try: I think I have tried them all. See <post#=599,129>post 599,129</post#> I have not noticed any "program control" or similar listed in either the monitor or Vcard serttings but there are a LOT, so maybe I've missed it?

    So I am playing the waiting game right now. Thanks for your input though.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    Bob,
    Glad to hear that things are fine at the moment. Just to minimize problems similar to what you are experiencing, I always opt for a digital connection between the video card and LCD if the hardware allows it..

    Paul

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    <hr>Right now I'm running VGA 60 hertz, 1280x1024 ...<hr>
    Personally I'd try to increase the refresh rate to 75 Hz or 85 Hz (or whatever's available above 60 Hz). I found this largely removed flickering on those old CRT monitors now dimly remembered <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> !

    My 17" Dell 1703 FP allows 60 Hz and 75 Hz and I have it set to the latter (no idea if it has an effect for a LCD flat panel, though).

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Display problem

    You are probably right , John.

    I normally run it at 75 hertz but this is just part of the experiment to see if any conclusions can be made as to what the problem might be.

    Even at 60 hertz, I don't see any noticeable flicker on the LCD at all though.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem

    John,
    Flicker problems are quite different in CRTs and LCDs. Depending on the particulars of the LCD you may be able operate at 50Hz, perhaps even lower, without any flicker issues.
    So when LCDs exhibit a hint of unstable behavior its always a good test to lower the refresh rate. This usually applies only to analog feeds of LCDs because a digital feed conatins a stable in-sync pixel clock.

    Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •