Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printing (2003 SP2)

    I know how to turn off update fields through the tools/options/print menu and tabs. I don't because generally this is a good global option.

    But ... is there a way to do this so that it is specific to a single document (so that all documents update as the default, but this particular document does not)?

    Is this something I can put in a template, so that every document created from that template has that option turned off?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printing (2003 SP2)

    You could Lock the fields in the document, you would then need to Unlock them again to get them to update. You could do this with a Macro or by manually typing Control-F11 and Control-Shift-F11

    StuartR

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    That works ... but I'm still looking for something better.

    I'm looking for something better than having to click in each field and hit a keystroke.

    Is there any alternative other than writing a macro?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    If you want to lock all fields in the document then you just need to typel Control-A followed by Control-F11.

    If you need to selectively lock particular fields then please give us a bit of information about how these fields can be identified.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    This is getting better.

    My problem is I create basic templates for secretaries and assistants to use, and then things like this make me end up doing tech support on them.

    Most recently this happened on a template I had trouble with on a different issue last week. It has two fill-in fields only. Could I put a seamless macro in there that locks those fields after they have been entered? Or, is there something even cleaner, since a macro is likely to open up a query box about whether you want to enable macros which will just generate another phone call each time the document is used.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    If you need a macro then you're going to have to explain how to use it, which is probably more work than it is worth.

    I haven't got any more suggestions, but if you post an example of one of your forms then maybe someone will have an idea for you.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    OK.

    This thread has been an improvement, and it doesn't seem like the benefits outweigh the costs of proceeding.

    EOM

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    > My problem is I create basic templates for secretaries and assistants to use, and then things like this
    > make me end up doing tech support on them.

    Well, what fun is automation if it doesn't create more work? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Our templates have a {DATE} field at the top. I usually add a line of "help text" with the attributes Green+Hidden that says to freeze the date, press Ctrl+Shift+F9 (that converts the field code to its current results). One tiny step on the road to training people how to work with fields.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    You lost me - what is an attribute for a field? What is "green and hidden"?

    Is there some layer of things beyond options that can control what my field does?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 18-Sep-06 12:21. Last part deleted... not relevant.)</P>Sorry, the line of help text has nothing to do with the field itself. It is a paragraph of text either above or below the field, and those attributes are set in the Format>Font dialog for the entire paragraph.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Selectively Suppress Field Update When Printin

    Thanks for the clarification.

    I went ballistic when I saw that (thinking there was another layer of Word that I had yet to peel back).

    Thanks again.

    EOM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •