Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Database acting up (2003)

    I have a database that's been running for years, which has just started acting up. It's a despatch database that we send goods away on to sub-contract. The order number is always the same. Now when we enter the order number, part numbers and descriptions are automatically filling the records, where they didn't before. Can anyone guide me where to start looking for the problem.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Have you recently changed any software?

    What do you mean by "Now when we enter the order number, part numbers and descriptions are automatically filling the records, where they didn't before"?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    No, we haven't changed any software. The part number, description etc., should be entered by the user. It's as though it's reading it from somewhere else, but I don't know why.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Is the part number and description part of a subform? What is the source of the data of the form? When does it populate these fields?

    Could you post a stripped down version of the database, with sensitive data removed.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    It sounds like the linking between subfom and main form has been lost.

    Check the Link Child and Link Master fields properties of the subform.

    If you use the form to look at previous dispatches, does it show the correct items?
    Regards
    John



  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Somethings definately gone wrong. I'm trying to import the relevant tables into a blank database to send to you, and I keep getting the 'Send Error Report' box.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    You may want to try:

    Compact & Repair Database

    Open a new DB import all objects and adjust references

    Split to DB into FE and BE if not already done

    HTH, John

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    I have two tables 1 is for the main form and 1 for the subform (which holds all the details). The problem seems to be with the subform table. I've tried deleting some of the records so I can post it, but before I get to the end, I get the Microsoft error box. I checked the links and they are ok (the link is the serial no)

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Have you tried the suggestions in Post: <post#=600,058>post 600,058</post#>

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Yes, that's when I get the problem. The table will not export. I have even tried importing the data into an Excel spreadsheet, and get the same error.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Another suggestion is in <post#=578,419>post 578,419</post#>
    Regards
    John



  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    This is weird. The Jet 4.0 software closes before I type in the destination

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    Do you mean the JetComp application closes?

    Try a decompile, as described in <post:=44,732>post 44,732</post:> and see if that changes anything before you try JetComp again.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Database acting up (2003)

    I've tried de-compiling, and still Jet Comp closes. Nothing I've tried up to now seems to be working. I'm able to copy data from January this year, onwards, so what I intend to do is re-create the table, and copy the data to it. That seems the only option left. At least I'm not losing all the data. Thanks to you all for your help and suggestions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •