Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    refresh control panel

    In the continuing cleanup from a virus attack, I just noticed that "Control Panel" has completely lost everything in the Add / remove programs section ( get an empty screen with only add / remove programs at top.

    I have several utilities that still show all of the installed programs my guess is they walk the registry to find them - don't know for sure.

    Is there any way to refresh or get a new copy of "Contol panels" section for Add / Remove Programs?

    Tom

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,328
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel


  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Joe,

    Wouldn't a registry cleaner (say <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>CCCleaner Version v1.33.382) also find the problem and correct it ? I think my Registry Mechanic Version 5.2 found an error similar to this and corrected it a few weeks ago - just can not remember. Problem is Registry Mechanic is a paid program.
    Scott

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,328
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Maybe. Just depends on how good it is a detecting the specific issue.

    Joe

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Thanks to eveyone who replied - I went thru all of the suggestions and didn't get anything fixed. I currently have 3 reg cleaners on system - including one commercial one and none of them found any problems. I also have "CCleaner" on system and it runs daily.

    Think a new box and win xp pro are required to get everything back to normal

    Tom

  7. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: refresh control panel

    Sometimes, a fresh install is a lot easier than trying to fix things that a nasty has trashed. Almost like a car that nickel and dimes you when it gets older.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •