Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Hello World!
    I have a problem with a customer display unit i bought, the VFD-202, it has 20x2 characters and i want to display a message on it, i don't care what message at the moment, but i can't seem to get it to work, it has an RJ45 network type cable, this then plugs into a serial cable, then into my PC, but nothing seems to happen, there are some DIP switches on it, 8 in total, and i have the manual, but it is somewhat confusing and does not actually show a step by step guide to installation, whenever i run some software, it was the port is already open, then i choose an item to send, and it says Operation cannot complete unless port is open? Ideas?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    What are you powering it with?
    Did you buy it new or second hand?
    If not new, do you know if it works?

    I would get in touch with the distributors(?) and ask for some technical information.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    It was new, in box, i think it draws power from the serial port, but i am not sure... the port i now have open also, i had some touchscreen drivers from a while ago that occupied the port, but still not having luck, the only connecter that came with it was the RJ45-serial (9 pin) adapter lead, i mailed the seller of the item, it is made by Tysso i believe, still not having luck with it though, i have the manual here if you want any specs etc. but it's mainly jsut about hex code and character sets etc. with a very vague description of install, e.g. Plug it in, run VDF to test it. Tried the program that come enclosed without any luck.

    Note: i have the disk that came with it, it has a file named RS232.SYS, i moved the file to system32/drivers, am i supposed to do anything else?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Danny,
    I looked at at least one Tysso unit on line and it said:
    --------------------------------------------------------
    Step 1: Turn the computer system power off.
    Step 2: Connect the Display Cable to the RS-232 Port of the computer.
    Step 3: Connect the DC power source by the appropriate DC power adapter.
    Step 4: Turn on the computer and the power supply unit, the display will be on and ready for receiving data
    --------------------------------------------------------

    Step 3 mentions a DC power adapter. I assume it is one of those little "power bricks" that plug into the AC outlet and converts to 12 volts DC to power your unit.
    Are you SURE you didn't get one of them in you packaging?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    No, no power cable, there's no where to plug a power cable into the unit itself anyway... ?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    >> ...i think it draws power from the serial port...

    Uh-uh, very unlikely, as the serial port is not designed to source power (unlike, for example, a USB port). Personally, I would be very surprised if you do not have to supply external power - there is no power pin on a standard RS232 port! (See RS232 pinout.)


    >> ...am i supposed to do anything else?

    <img src=/S/rtfm.gif border=0 alt=rtfm width=24 height=23>? Seriously, unless by coincidence some user here has used one of these displays, you've got all the information! Did you contact the distributor I linked to above?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    apparently a PC cannot power this item,it has to be an EPOS, as the power is on Pin 9? that's what the seller told me, but then why did it come with a driver disk etc. ?
    i am confused
    note: also, the RS-232.sys item came with it and that's a windows file, no?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    The PC-RS232 connection and drivers are needed to send information to the display, power for the display is sourced separately. (This is exactly the same as a PC-monitor setup, you have a data connection and a power connection. And DON'T try connecting this display to your PC-video out!)

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Hmm, well, anyone know a way of 'bodging' it to work, i thought you could pass -12v to +12v power from the serial port by using some code, i read there are some drivers or something? I attached the .sys file also for you to take a look at, also worth noting my pc has recognised an Unknown device now, but it still doesnt appear to work...

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    oh also, it came with a .c file, i believe it's a program? attached it with the .sys
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Unless you want to read the C source code program, to find out what it does, it could be ignored. Utterly.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    maybe this would work, instead of using the serial connection it came with?
    edit: or this
    Getting warmer?

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Do you have a serial port already?
    If Yes, you don't need any of these.

    If No,
    #1 will give you RS422/485 from an RS232 port which you don't have.
    #2 will give you 2 x RS232 ports.
    #3 - goodness knows. It seems to give you 8 I/O ports that may connect to your display, but unless you know the pinouts, how are you going to connect it?

    In response to <post:=601,795>post 601,795</post:> - you can't 'pass' =/-12V from a serial port as far as I am aware. You can 'create' it by switching some of the outputs at a high frequency and by using a circuit similar to this, but as the spec for your display shows a power requirement of anything up to 3A, you are out by a factor of something like 1,000.

    Questions:
    Do you have an RS232 port on the PC you wish to control the display?
    Do you have a separate 5V or 9/12V DC supply to power the display?

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Ok, yes i have a serial port, it's plugged into it now, i have a power supply where you can adjust the voltage, this wasn't supplied with the item. Like i say, theres no obvious way of connecting it to the display, there is simply the RJ45 cable from the display, this connects to the serial cable to my pc...

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Serial interface (Customer Display)

    Right, if you already have a serial port, you don't need any of the hardware you list in <post:=601,805>post 601,805</post:>, and I fear you are going to have to find the non-obvious method of supplying power! I can't believe the manual doesn't give some indication of where the power connection is - it's certainly not through a standard RS232 port!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •