Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    The default print scaling for the Paint program page setup appears to be "Adjust to 100% normal size". When I print a screen capture, the image comes out on 4 8-1/2" x 11" sheets. Can I change the default format to "Fit to 1 x 1 page"?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Paint is only a very basic program, with few whistles and bells. As far as I know, there is no way to change the default page setup.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Go to File>Page Setup and in the Page Setup Window Change the Orientation from Portrait to Landscape and change the Scaling from Adjust To to Fit To and make the page setting there 1 by 1 page(s). That will print to 1 page.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Will that change the default page setup?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Nope. But the OP said that their printouts were too large. Just being helpful and anticipating the next question. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Thanks for the suggestions. This issue is just a matter of convenience and reduction of steps. The only thing I use MSPaint for is quick printing of screen captures and the default setup prints the image on four sheets. I realize I can manually change the page setup each time so that the image fits the paper, but I was hoping I could change the default page setup. I've searched the registry and Microsoft's Knowledge Base, but have found nothing on this issue.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    If you use PowerPoint or Word you can paste your screen captures there and they should print out on one page, just as they appear on screen. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Have you considered one of the many dedicated screen capture utilities (many available for free)? Some operate on customizable "hot keys", which might reduce the number of steps even further, while also solving your printing issue. The <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> Screenshot Captor appears to do what you'e after.

    Alan

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Nice find Alan !! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    I might like it better than Handysnap 1.1. The newer versions are shareware, but v1.1 is still available <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> at this link.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Paint Default Page Setup (XP-SP2)

    Here's an AutoIt solution that works on my PC. To test it out, follow these steps:
    1. <LI>Locate the file mspaint.exe in the WindowsSystem32 folder
      <LI> <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>MAKE A COPY OF THIS FILE <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>
      <LI>Rename mspaint.exe to _mspaint.exe
      <LI>Download the file http://397.port5.com/mspaint.zip (180KB) and extract the file to the WindowsSystem32 folder.
    Now when you use Paint, it should default the Page Setup to Fit To: 1 by 1 page(s). I couldn't get rid of the dialog flash during loading and have noticed that, like all scripts that send simulated keystrokes, messages can get sent to the ether if lots of other activity is being coordinated by Windows at the time. YMMV, so let's know how it goes.

    The AutoIt code is very simple:
    <code>
    Dim $Program, $PID, $i, $params

    if $CmdLine[0] > 0 Then
    for $i = 1 to $CmdLine[0]
    $params = $params & " " & $CmdLine[$i]
    Next
    EndIf

    $Program = "C:WINDOWSsystem32_mspaint.exe" & $params
    $PID = Run($Program, "", @SW_HIDE)
    WinActivate("untitled - Paint")
    Send("!fu!F{TAB}1{TAB}1{ENTER}")
    WinSetState("untitled - Paint", "", @SW_SHOW)
    </code>
    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •