Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    I haven't tried to make one yet but I am curious as always.....will a slipstream disk work for any XP Pro computer so long as I have the proper serial number for that computer handy?


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    I'm pretty sure you will be OK, provided that the CD is for exactly the correct version of Windows to match your serial number (XP Pro / Home / Media Centre etc.).

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Skitterbug,
    A handy little utility to do the actual slipstreaming for you is:

    AUTOSTREAM

    Makes it real easy to create a slipstream copy of XP & SP2.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Stuart, are you saying then that the slipstream disk is specifically tied to the XP Pro O/S that it is made from? I guess what I was hoping was that for checking out system files, any slipstreamed disk would work on any box. Instead, it sounds like I'd have to make a slipstream disk for each XP Pro system that I wanted to use the disk for - correct? I hope this question makes sense you. Apparently this won't be like the good ole days when any Win98 disk would work so long as we had the proper serial number for the operating system. Now it sounds like the disk and the serial number are incorporated - would that be correct thinking? I probably should already know this but I don't apparently. Thanks for your patience.


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Thanks Bob! I'll check it out! Anything that makes a slipstream disk easier to construct and simpler for me to understand will be very helpful! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Skitter,

    I didn't explain this as clearly as I intended. I think you can do what you want, but you need a different slipstreamed disk for XP Pro, for XP Home etc.

    I can't give you definitive answers, as I use the Volume License Edition of XP Pro, which is different again.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Bob,

    Tried your link http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=223562 and all I get is a blank page. <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>
    Scott

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    565
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    FYI - Decided to try other OS and browsers.

    Same results trying FF, IE ^ and Opera on OS XP Pro, WinMe, and W98SE.
    Scott

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    That is weird Scott because I got right in yesterday evening to look quickly at the instructions. Maybe the site is having a problem of some sort and will be up and running shortly...........I hope so because I believe it will really be helpful to me! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Thanks Stuart! I believe we are "on the same page" - I just need to match the "flavor" of the O/S to the right slipstream disk. I was considering possible solutions for imaginary problems I may have in this up coming part time tech job. However, I also want to make this disk for my trusty home computer so I can give it a whirl! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    I am also (right now) getting an empty screen. However, this is a good source: Autostreamer 1.0.33 Free Download - Softpedia (I just successfully did a download, to make sure I have the latest version.)

    Edited to add: I just tried going to the parent URL and saw this message: " Neowin.net is currently offline for extended maintenance work on the database."

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    By the way...

    After I embedded SP-2 and integrated most of security patches, installation folders do not fit on regular 700 MB CD anymore, even after creating CABs from new files in i386 folder. I must drop WMP10 installation file to make it fit.

    Does it mean when (and if - a big IF) SP-3 for WinXP will be released sometime in the future, it must be Setup DVD, not CD, for Win XP SP-3 ?

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Scott,
    I tried it just now and got the announcement that they are doing some maintenance try later.

    That site is the developers site but an alternate to use is HERE

    Edited to add: I see Big Al beat me to it. I was off line doing some maintenance too.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    Thanks Al for the link! I downloaded it this time before this referenced website goes bye bye too! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Now to find the time to try it out! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> to you and Bob!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: slipstreaming XP (XP Pro)

    It is unlikely as the service pack itself will fit easily on a CD. I think a merged full Windows XP CD will still fit on a CD as my slipstreamed XP Pro SP-2 CD is only 580 MB. . See Windows Service Pack Road Map for the scheduled availability (2H 2007). Thought to be about the same time as Vista SP-1.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •