Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Hi,

    We have just received an error message 'Invalid Argument' on a particular record. The front end and back end are around 50MB each.

    Any ideas?
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    We will need much more detailed information if you want us to help you.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Okay, sorry about that.

    The rest of the database is fine, there is just one record in tblProperty that caused the error 'Invalid Argument', in the access form you can see all the information from the table, however there is a query linked on a sub form, which does not appear. There is no abnormal information such ###Error### table. The propertyid appears in the tblViewings which appears okay as well. all the other records in tblProperty and TblViewings are working correctly.

    I have tried a compact and repair on the backend, however the status bar gets half way saying 'compacting' and won't move forward anymore, the database window opens again so you can open the tables int he back end, but still the status bar is only half way. - All users were out when this was being done.
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    See if you can compact the backend using the JetComp utility. It is available (free) from Jet compact utility is available in download center.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    I have tried this and it will not work.

    I have tried to import all the items in the back end into another db and that won't work, giving an error on tblViewings.

    Looking through the tabl there is one record with #Error# all the way through. How do I delete this, as everytime I try to do it in the table I get invalid argument?
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Ah, your table has become corrupt. If JetComp cannot repair it, you can try the following:
    - Start by making a backup copy of the database.
    - Create a blank new database.
    - Import everything except the corrupt table into the new database.
    - Open the corrupt database in another instance of Access.
    - Copy the corrupt table.
    - Switch to the new database and paste it with the structure only option.
    - Don't paste structure AND records, for that would only duplicate the corruption.
    - Switch to the corrupt database.
    - Open the corrupt table, and select all records up to but not including the corrupt record.
    - Copy them to the clipboard.
    - Switch to the new database.
    - Paste the records into the new table.
    - Go back to the original table, and select all records after the corrupt record.
    - Copy, then paste at the end of the new table.
    - If you know what the corrupt record contained, you can re-enter the data manually.
    - You may also be able to retrieve it from a recent non-corrupt backup.
    - If necessary, reconstruct relationships.

    Depending on the situation, going back to a recent non-corrupt backup may be easier.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Have you tried deleting all relationships between that table and other tables, and perhaps also removing indexes, then trying to delete the record?

    Can you cut and paste records (before or after the corrupt one ) from the table into another table with the same structure?
    Regards
    John



  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Have been able to get everyone out of the db now. Working on it at home.

    I try to scroll down to it, but it send the table screen completely white. Proving very difficult to actually copy the records across.

    Can it be done from a query, i.e I set the criter for the ide number to be <= or >= jumping one if I can find out what the id number would have been?

    Anyway, how does this happen?
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    If you have a monotonously increasing index field, say an AutoNumber field, you could create two queries, one for field < problem value and one for field > problem value.

    There are various possible causes for corruption:
    - Access is very sensitive to network problems. If the network connection fails, even for a fraction of a second, while it is writing a record to a network disk, the record may become corrupt.
    - Memo, hyperlink and OLE fields (such as a field that contains images) are stored outside the table itself. If the link between the table and the storage for these fields is disrupted, it may cause corruption.

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Okay, that's great.

    So there is no real way round it I suppose for the network issues.
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    I am trying to copy and paste, and it won't let me do anymore than one record at a time.
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    Sometimes network problems can be solved - but that is very much a technical matter for specialists.

    Where I work, snapshots of the network disks are made every hour or so, so even if a database becomes corrupted, it is possible to go back to an uncorrupted version without losing much in the way of new data, and without the hassle of trying to repair a database.

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    I may have been able to solve my own problem now,

    I can run an append query, but I need to know how to use the criteria <= 45958 and >=45960

    The bad viewid number 45959, which seems to get round it that way, is this the correct way to do it?
    Best Regards,

    Luke

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    You could use <>45959 in the criteria line for the unique ID field. This will include all records except the one with ID = 45959.

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    506
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Invalid Argument Error (2000)

    This si not letting me do it at all, I can only find one record corruption, but it keeps throwing up errors.

    I cannot compact it to post it onot the board as it won't do it and the file size is 36mb
    Best Regards,

    Luke

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •