Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

495 Object or class does not support (Word2000 et

BillT.dot is a little Word application I wrote to summarize my time slips, which are generated using NotePad's .LOG feature. I've been using it daily since March 2005. It reads the Notepad file and produces a summary of hours spent by client code. I d/l a copy from my web site when I'm working at a client's site and use it to track hours when I'm billing at an hourly rate.

It has suddenly stopped working on my laptop, suddenly, after I un-installed Office2007 prior to reloading it (sometime this weekend, I hope)
    I tracked down This Post in Google groups, but felt confused by the whole rigamarole of OCXs, registering stuff etc.

The baulk is on a line <pre>frmBillT.lbClients.Clear</pre>

, harmless enough, yet it throws up a Run time Error 495 "Object or class does not support this set of events"

BillT works on other machines.
    Other applications on this machine with identical constructs (frm.lb.Clear) still work.
    I tried exporting the source with Rob Bovey's cleaner, re-imported to a new template, still wouldn't work.

In desperation I began a new template, imported the BAS, rebuilt the UserForm, but pasted in the VBA source code from the failed version of BillT.

When I tried to set the appropriate references I noticed that MSCAL.OCX (I think) is gone.
    I have found something called Date Picker, which appears to do the trick.
    It appears that a faulty or unavailable control triggers a random error report in VBA, since the calendar control is not related to the listbox, as far as I know.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: 495 Object or class does not support (Word2000 et

A MISSING reference often causes problems with code that is not related to the missing reference. In Microsoft Access, a missing reference usually causes standard VBA functions such as Left or Date to fail.

In short, as long as there are missing references, code execution will not be dependable.