Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    I am having problems with yahoo and java script - contacted yahoo and they said that my problem was java script was disabled.

    Finally found that if I start Yahoo from firefox - everything is ok (both yahoo mail and Yahoo IM. I have FF marked in firefox as the default browser. I have a Yahoo mail icon and a Yahoo IM icon on desktop. If I start mail or IM from these icons, they start under IE. I can not figure out how to stop this.

    If Yahoo mail or Yahoo IM start from the icons (running under IE and not specifically from ff )- they do not work properly - they have the problems that Yaho identified as not having Java Script enabled.

    Two questions -
    How can I force Yahoo to use FF no matter how it is started????
    How do I make sure that IE will not start except when I want it to? I only have it around to solve some quirky wmv problems

    OBTW - I am pretty sure part of these problems are caused by the FF extension called "Noscript" but the only way I can make any thing work is to run "Noscript with scripts globally allowed.

    Thanks

    Tom

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 03-Oct-06 12:27. Note added.)</P>I use NoScript, but my use of Yahoo! is limited to Yahoo.com, no desktop stuff or toolbars.

    How were the desktop icons created? For example, are they ".url" shortcuts, the kind you can create by dragging the favicon in the address bar to your desktop? Or do they run some local Yahoo! program?

    If they are ordinary shortcuts/favorites, then they should open in your default browser, and if Firefox is your default browser, their icon normally will be the Firefox-on-a-white-page graphic. Does that match what you see?

    Added: You can force Firefox to be your default browser under Tools>Options..., General area, "Check Now" button.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    this is one of them

    C:WINNTsystem32RUNDLL32.EXE C:PROGRA~1Yahoo!CommonYMMAPI~1.DLL,OpenURL http://mail.yahoo.com/?.redir=ymmapi9

    This is the other

    FilesYahoo!MessengerYahooMessenger.exe"

    Tom

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Those look like Yahoo! program shortcuts. Do they have their own configuration panel that lets you choose Firefox as your default browser??

    For mail, you could create your own "Favorite-style" shortcut either using the method mentioned in my post above, or by dragging from Firefox's bookmarks menu to the desktop.

    For IM, I have no idea.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    I have a friend who has somehow set up his computer so that whenever a website tries to open in IE, it opens in Firefox instead. Even if you open IE and type something into the address bar, it opens in Firefox when you hit Enter (or "Go"). I've asked him how he does it and he can't remember(!) but will try to track it down tonight...
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you&#39;ve probably missed something.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Tom

    Try this:

    Tried and tested.

    Go to Start | Run and type in:

    firefox.exe -silent -nosplash -setDefaultBrowser

    This can now show FF when you click on emails, outlook , word docs etc
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Waggers

    See my <post:=605,303>post 605,303</post:> for the answer. I went into an absolute tiz afterwards as I thought " <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> How do I get back IE as my default" I thought this because of my work.

    To get the reset to work simply click the IE icon and it will ask if you want IE as default , simply say yes and it reverts to the original. Obviously use my hotfix to revert to Firefox Hope that helps...
    Jerry

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Thanks Jezza, but all that does is set Firefox as the default browser (which you can do from within Firefox anyway, without needing to use Start|Run). My friend's setup is such that even if he opens Internet Explorer itself and types something into the address bar, his IE window will close and the website will open in Firefox.
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you&#39;ve probably missed something.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Is this specific websites, or all?
    Just wondering if it may have something to do with the file-type associations, but I can't imagine how...

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    I think it's everything.

    (Personally I'd rather keep IE opening sites in IE as otherwise testing would be a nightmare!)
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you&#39;ve probably missed something.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: default browser (firefox and IE both current)

    Gotcha

    I misunderstood....but on my home PC I have set my default browser as FF but when I click on links in Word or Outlook it automatically goes to IE. This fix seems to override this and it opens in FF ...or is that what your thing does <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •