Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Allright.

    I'm getting tired of having to remember that it's ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2, whereas the real world uses Ctrl-Tab to switch between documents.

    Who has the magic piece of code I need to super-glue a definition of Ctrl-Tab to "carousel amongst open documents"?

    I'll issue a free "thank you" note to the first working solution to hit my desk .... (Alt-Tab's to Eudora ....)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Chris,

    Put the following procedure into a global template, and assign Ctl+Tab as the key shortcut for it.

    Gary

    <pre>Public Sub NextWindow()
    'Equivalent to Ctrl+F6 (NextWindow) command
    'Gary Frieder April 2001
    Dim lngWins As Long
    lngWins = Windows.Count
    If lngWins = 1 Then
    'do nothing - no other window to switch to
    Else
    If ActiveWindow.Index = lngWins Then
    'at "last" window - go back
    Windows(1).Activate
    Else
    ActiveWindow.Next.Activate
    End If
    End If
    End Sub
    </pre>


  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    I don't know why you do these things. Isn't it easier just to tell
    the user "We have a work around: memorize Ctrl-F6" and
    then move on...

    Nevertheless, here you go...

    <pre>Sub ReNameKey()
    CustomizationContext = NormalTemplate
    FindKey(BuildKeyCode(Arg1:=wdKeyControl, Arg2:=wdKeyTab)).Clear

    KeyBindings.Add KeyCode:=BuildKeyCode(Arg1:=wdKeyControl, _
    Arg2:=wdKeyTab), KeyCategory:=wdKeyCategoryCommand, _
    Command:="NextWindow"
    End Sub
    </pre>


    You do realize you can no longer move to tab stops in tables, right?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Gary,

    Are you able to assign Ctrl+Tab to a shortcut key?

    You mean via the toolbar customizer tool?

    I can't get that to work with Ctrl+tab...
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    > global template, and assign Ctl+Tab as the key shortcut for it.

    Gary, thanks for this. I've snipped it, but kevin's came with an inbuilt key assignment, so I'm going to try first see if his is "sticky". If it's not I'll fire up yours.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    > tell the user "We have a work around: memorize Ctrl-F6" and

    Would that it were a user. It's my BOSS!


    > Sub ReNameKey()

    Lovely, thank you.

    >tab stops in tables

    Tab Stops?
    Tables?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Gents,

    I'm sure Kevin's got it right in terms of not being able to assign the Contrl+Tab: I misread the requirement in your first post, which was to find a way to assign the key shortcut (plus I had this nice little piece of code here, looking for a good home...<g>).

    But if Word won't let you assign Ctrl+Tab to a built-in command, then most likely it won't let you assign it to a custom macro as well. (Is that 'hand smacking forehead' smilie available yet?)

    Gary

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Your Boss! Oh. Then the wording would change to this:

    "Hey, boss, we have a workaround. Try Ctrl-F6."
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Must be something with the UI customize keyboard thingy that won't allow Ctrl-Tab assginment.

    But the assigning via keybing is allowed.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ctrl-F6 in Word97SR2 (Word97SR2)

    Have you ever tried communicating with my boss? He's a Ctrl-Freak!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •