Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    For some time now, at least a couple weeks and probably more than a month, I've received the following error when I try to access support.microsoft.com:

    Server Error in '/' Application.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Runtime Error
    Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

    Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within a "web.config" configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This <customErrors> tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".




    <configuration>
    <system.web>
    <customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" defaultRedirect="mycustompage.htm"/>
    </system.web>
    </configuration>


    I should note that I am using IE 7 RC1 on my fully patched WinXP Pro SP-2 workstation. I do not have IIS or Sharepoint installed on this PC. I do have .NET 1.1.4322 and .NET 2.0.50727 installed. The user I login with is an admin on the PC. I've tried both Google and Windows Live Search using the exact error message as the search term. I got nothing worthwhile from either. I've modified the web.config file (as suggested above) found at C:WINDOWSMicrosoft.NETFrameworkv2.0.50727CONFIG to no avail. Any suggestions on how to figure this out are welcomed.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    I'm not sure how this could be a client-side problem, but then again, I'm running IE6 with .Net 1.1, so I can't replicate your environment/error.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    I don't know either. I have pretty much the same environment at home with the exception of a few minor application programs and have no problems accessing support.microsoft.com. There is another PC here at work that has IE 7 RC1 that works fine also.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    Could it be a busted cookie?

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    FWIW - that's a server-side error. The error message is basically stating that it can't show you the error message because the remote error messages are disabled (by default).

    My guess is that the reason it can't be replicated by all is that some clients are being redirected to the problematic server (or site) and others are not. (This assumes that Microsoft is using a web-farm with multiple web servers and/or multiple language or geography-based sites.)

    Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: error accessing support.microsoft.net (.net)

    I'd be very surprised if they were not using server farms with load balancing. If that is the case I'd also be surprised if any one PC is always directed to the same server.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •