Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33
  1. #16
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Thanks for the informative reply Mark. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I've been using Symantec AV for years and had a big problem last summer when I had to upgrade from the 2003 to 2005 edition and it didn't go smoothly (to put it mildly). After the "upgrade" trashed my system and wouldn't run or update itself I attempted to avail myself of their phone support, but didn't speak enough Hindi to get through to the support tech and had to make a command decision and resort to restoring an image I made just before starting to install 2005. Once back to normal, I uninstalled 2003 using Symantec's removal tools and then edited all traces I could find of Norton and Symantec from the registry and only then did 2005 install and work properly. I'd have chucked it, but I'd paid for it and figured I'd try to live with it. Now I find I may have a problem with the LiveUpdate feature, but it might be a false warning due to me turning back the date on my system the other day to read a date sensitive CD of my brother's wedding photos <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24>. The error directed me to one of Symantec's wonderful little "AutoFix" Tools (that concept in itself scares me) and it didn't work (surprise, surprise) and I was then directed to uninstall all my Symantec products using another of their little tools. I bailed out at that point and will see what happens over the next week or so. If it gives me any more trouble, it's in the trash, and I'll remove it and edit the registry and give Avast a go based on your recommendation and what I just read on their site. Heck, I may just do that anyway.

    Up until now, I've been recommending AVG to my friends and clients who want <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> AV or don't like Symantec or McAfee. But, like you, I'm less than thrilled with AVGs UI. Avast may be my new AV program of choice. The AV subscription on my son's machine is up in 10 days and I think I'll install Avast and run it through it's paces.

    Your advice and recommendations are always well thought out and sound. Thanks again. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #17
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    I believe (without searching to see) that it was an earlier recommendation from Mark that led me to install Avast on this "new" Dell back in April when I bought it. I don't even mind the little audio thingie that pops up to tell me that the Avast database has been updated. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I don't know if it's Avast or the fact that I'm a careful surfer and also use MailWasher on the front end of email, but I've not had any problems either with baddies or system consumption. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

    My older PIII machine still runs with the Trend Micro product but I didn't want to buy a second license. As I've reported in the past, I haven't had any problems on that machine either and it's been running with pcCillin for a few years now.

  3. #18
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Thanks for the input, Al. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Just bolsters my resolve to dump Symantec's junk and get back to the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> world !! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> If the damn thing gives me even an inkling of trouble with this LiveUpdate thing, it's outta here !!!

    I'm generally careful on the net myself, but do take the occasional chance or sometimes follow a link that is emailed to me, but feel that my system is pretty secure and if that fails, I've got an image to restore. I'm not a diligent as you, and only do an image every month. I do back up important stuff to external media as soon as it's created though.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #19
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    <hr>...I do back up important stuff to external media as soon as it's created though... <hr>
    Amen to that! I wish I had better luck convincing more people, like my stubborn SON, that a nightly backup of selected files can be done semi-automatically, while you sleep. As I've also reported in the past, I use NewTech Infosystems Backup software but there are also plenty of other alternatives. Backing up my bookmarks, email, documents, Quicken, etc. files takes only a minute or two at 1 AM.

  5. #20
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    <hr>I don't even mind the little audio thingie that pops up to tell me that the Avast database has been updated.<hr>
    I didn't either, until I forgot to turn my speakers down to a reasonable level and was jarred out of sound sleep around 4:00 in the morning by a mechanical sounding voice... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Actually, it does let you know that the program is doing something (if you're around to hear it). More than once I've seen Symantec's automatic updates fail silently because a password was changed, or similar. With that application, you don't know until you try to update manually that something is amiss. Unacceptable for a program that is supposed to protect you in the background.
    -Mark

  6. #21
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Hi,
    Since you moderators already has <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18> the thread with a small discussion about AV ... <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I certainly like AV-programs with a small footprint, that works as you said Mark, transparently and effectively. Of course one cannot expect it to be extremely small and with no impact on speed at all, given what it should do: real-time scanning, email-scanning etc.

    At the moment, and for the last around 3-4 years, I am using AVG Free. I can think of other products with a small footprint that works great and have good reputation, such as F-PROT. But, at moment I'm not so interested in paying for an AV-product if I don't have to. I have recently upgraded some parts (apr.$500), have other projects this autumn and winter, so I am waiting and following the development in the security product area.

    Was it anything in particular with the AVG UI that you didn't like or found better in Avast? I agree that some parts (email-scanner settings) have several dialog boxes etc. so some parts could be better. And help files in the Free version isn't always that helpful. That said, I have not had any problems with AVG Free.

    Isn't Avast the AV-program with the possibility to change skins? That should give the kids a lot of different UI's to chose from. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> From my point of view, computer security is a serious matter, and the cleaner and more clear look in the UI the better. OK I know, the respected F-Secure had a themed version (based on the great Tove Jansson's Moomin books), but still ... some of Avast skins doesn't look like, well words fails me.

  7. #22
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    I switched also to Avast on the recomend from here some months aga and have been perfectly satisfied. And if you dont like the sounds (can be a shock I agree) I think they can be disabled in the settings as per screenshot

  8. #23
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    I found AVG's UI to be rather confusing and somewhat cluttered. Nothing major, it just does not look all that well thought out and it's hard to use. The learning curve for the average user is rather steep.

    Avast! does have the option for skins, but I personally don't use them. At least with Avast!, there is an option to turn them off, unlike the vendor that I ran screaming from months ago...
    -Mark

  9. #24
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Hi Everyone

    Found this site reading Woody's "Windows XP for Dummies".
    Hi Woody .. (If you ever come here.)

    Responding to the question about windows xp pro and/or the mce edition, I bought this Gateway mce from Costco about six months ago. I didn't have a Clue about computers then, (or now) and only got it for the Great monitor!
    The Gateway fpd2185w 21 inch, "pivoting" (landscape to automatic portrait view) one.

    Well anyway.. to get back on subject, according to my system info, This IS the xp pro.
    Now please don't hang me out to dry for this, all I can tell you is that the system itself says:
    Model: Gateway Gm5045e
    OS: 5.1.2600 Xp Pro

    Mc

  10. #25
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    My guess is that your PC is named a Media Center, but that the operating system is Windows XP Pro. If you'd had Windows XP Media Center Edition, it would have said so in the properties of My Computer etc.

    Windows XP Media Center Edition has some features of Windows XP Pro, such as access control, but it lacks others, such as remote desktop and logging onto a domain.

  11. #26
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Thanks for the welcome Hans,

    I don't have a clue as to os systems and these xp's are a real mystery to me.

    I still have the box that this came in and there is no mention of it being a pro series.

    There isn't even any info about it in all of the literature/manuals that came with it?

    All of the information is about : Media Center Edition 2005.

    It has the remote control and all of the hardware/software that the other mce's have and the presentation cd was nothing But media center.

    Heck why pay more for the pro if the mce comes with it?
    I gotta tell ya, this thing Rocks .. Even to a newbie like me!

    BTW. What is that gator with the pajamas doing, popping in and out of the top right corner? {8- o

    Mc

  12. #27
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    I can't explain why system info would mention Windows XP Pro if you have Media Center Edition 2005.

    > What is that gator with the pajamas doing, popping in and out of the top right corner?

    That is Lex the Lounge Lizard, our mascot. If you hover your mouse pointer over him, you'll see what he says. The picture and text change with the time of the day.

  13. #28
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    Did you read this info from a tag physically on the chassis? ("Model: Gateway Gm5045e OS: 5.1.2600 Xp Pro") It's possible it got incorrectly labeled at manufacture. If you right-click the My Computer icon and select Properties you should see a screen like this attachment.

  14. #29
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    From this ad for a refurbished system it would appear that this is in fact a Media Center PC. That said, Media Center is not an operating system, but more like an overlay or add-on to an XP Pro system. XP Pro with extra features, so to speak.

    This information does not appear to be readily available or clear on Gateway's site.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #30
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: xp pro vs xp media center (current)

    My 2 cents:

    I have both XP Pro retail and MCE on 2 PCs. MCE "is" XP Pro -- BUT -- with some stuff removed and some stuff added in (to make it MCE), MCE takes up almost twice the HDD space as "Plain" XP Pro and since I do not have a TV tuner nor plan to hook up my MCE PC to my cable, I think it is a waste of space for anyone who just wanted plain XP Pro.

    Just another way for M$ to make money.

    Dell has changed their tune and now charges extra for MCE, when in 2005 they included it as the newest and greatest OS, according to them!

    I value my disk space more than the junk M$ comes up with to entice buyers to spend more $$$!
    Whether MCE can be considered an extra feature is debatable! I don't need dancing little girls on my screen!!

    CP

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •