Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Hi All,

    I recently downloaded and installed the free version of Zone Alarm on an XP SP2 system. What I've noticed is that when I sometimes go to open Outlook Express or Int Explorer that they won't "load." What I mean by that is that OE will look for the mail server and not be able to find it (I use Verizon's DSL service, which uses Yahoo mail). At the same time, IE won't be able to find my home page. I then close Zone Alarm, OE, and IE, and then re-open OE and IE and all is fine. If I close Zone Alarm but don't close/re-open OE and IE but try to just download email or go to my home page, they still have problems.

    This is happened too many times to think that the respective servers happened to be down when I first tried opening OE and IE and then came back up a few seconds later.

    I've not detected any pattern as to when this happens.

    Anybody have any thoughts on this?

    TIA.

    Fred

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    I have NOT had this problem running ZA Free on our 5 machines and many client machines.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    I also use ZA free on Verizon DSL and have no problems with the two.

    Have you checked ZA Program control page to see if OE AND IE are "allowed" access in the trusted and Internet zones?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    You also mention that Verizon uses Yahoo mail?
    Is that an option in NJ?
    Verizon in Massachusetts doesn't use Yahoo as it's mail server, although I suppose you could have it as a separate option outside of Verizon.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Sadly, Verizon is now "offering" (read attempting to shove down consumers throats) Yahoo or MSN as part of their installation package here in the Garden State.

    While going through my continuing problem with my email recently (actually as recent as today) with Verizon, the support people always asked which I was using, Yahoo or MSN, and when told that I didn't install unnecessary JUNK on my system, were surprised, but overlooked it or insistent that I needed to install one or the other for things to work correctly. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> I hung up on the insistent ones and started over with hopes of getting someone with a modicum of intelligence the next time. Limited success here, but things are progressing.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Doc,
    Yet another reason why I moved out of the State of my birth! <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Hi Bob,

    Thanks for the ideas.

    I'm not sure about access being allowed since both OE and IE can access the Internet "most" of the time. The only pattern I've noticed is that when I turn on my computer, ZA is activated. When I then open OE or IE, they work. It's only after I've had the PC on for a while, turned off and then back on my wireless transmitter (I have a router on the other side of the room), that there are problems. Not every time. But it does eventually happen. Then I have to turn off ZA.

    I checked the control page. As I would have thought given above, both OE and IE are checked for access to both zones.

    I have ZA version 6.35, which I downloaded a few months ago.

    Fred

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Is the IP address of your router added to the trusted zone?

    Ian

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Bob,

    Can't say for sure about whether Yahoo is an option or not for Verizon here in NJ. The wife arranged the hookup to Verizon. But I don't recall that we had any option as to our mail provider.

    See graphic. Looks like some co-branding.

    Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Ian,

    Thanks. Not sure but why would it work most of the time but not other times? See answer to Viking.

    Fred

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Well I've certainly found more than once that unless you do have the IP address of the router in the trusted zone, the internet works fine for the first hour or two from booting up, but then stops. I read the explanation somewhere once, but I can't remember where or what it was.

    Ian

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    I had exactly the same problem, so I went back to ZA 6.1.744.001. Now the problem (after a while - being connected - not being able to receive and/or send mail) only occurs very seldom.

    One way to overcome this maybe to set your mail to automatically receiving and sending every, say 10 mins. In my case it worked but I don't like it so I went back to 6.1.

    Regards, Teun

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Teun - thanks for the tip. I'm going to try Ian's suggestion about adding the IP address of the router to the Trusted zone.

    Did you save older versions of the ZA download or where did you find the older version? My download was for 6.5.737 and it was the first time I've ever downloaded ZA.

    Also, did you have problems with Int Explorer also?

    Fred

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    You can download old versions of Zonealarm here.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm Interferes with OE/IE

    Hi Fred,

    This thread should really be in Spyware/Safe Computing etc, but anyway. No problems with IE7B. And yes I had other problems with ZA before, see my <post#= 589098>post 589098</post#> after I ran earlier versions without any problems for 2 years. But after your post I checked out the latest free ZA ver. 6.5.737 (installed it after full uninstall of earlier version) and mirabile dictu all my earlier problems are over. Maybe it does the same thing for you!

    Regards, Teun

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •