Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    I have two 250gb SATA HD's on my PC. I use the 2nd drive to copy mpg files etc. from the first as a working backup. The first HD is set as a master and the second as a slave. A 1gb file can take up to 10 minutes to copy from master to slave and vice versa. However, copying the same file to an external HD using a USB connection only takes about a minute. I'm running WinXP Pro SP2 with 2048mb RAM on an ASUS P5GD1-VM MB.
    Is this transfer speed normal between HD's on the same system or can I do something to speed things up? I'd be grateful for comments.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    I am very confused because I thought that SATA did not have Master and Slave drives. Can you describe the cable that connects your disks to the controller, and the connectors at each end.

    Can you also please do some more timing tests, how long does it take to copy this 1GB file from each internal drive to the external one? and from the external drive to each internal one?

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    Stuart
    Thanks for reply. There are four SATA connectors on the MB numbered SATA 1 to SATA 4. SATA 1 and SATA 2 are coloured red and are designated as Masters. SATA 3 and 4 are coloured black and are designated Slaves. Obviously you no longer set jumpers on the HD's themselves as the MB takes care of the settings. My first drive is connected to SATA 1 as the master and the second drive is connected to SATA 3 as the slave. The connectors are 7 pin at each end and the connecting cables are coloured red and about 1cm wide.
    Copying:
    Internal drive to internal drive (both directions) = 10 minutes
    Internal drive to external drive via USB 2.0 connection = 1 minute
    External drive to either internal drive = 1 minute

    What puzzles me is why the copying to and from the external drive is so much quicker than internal copying.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    I have no experience with this motherboard, so I looked for a manual and clipped the attached from that PDF. I can't find any specific statements in that doc for how to connect more than one SATA drive, but because of the statement I boxed in red, I wonder if the MB is treating your drives as IDE rather than SATA. Don't know if that would degrade their speed or not. Somehow my instinct (lousy!) would have me connect the drives to connecter 1 and 2 but I have nothing to base that on.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    Big Al
    Your instinct is not lousy! I connected the1st drive to SATA 1 and 2nd to SATA 2 as your instincts suggested and it's now working perfectly with copying under 1 minute. I have a feeling that the manual is somewhat misleading (that's my excuse anyway!) and that, as you suggest, the MB was treating the drives as IDE. Anyway its all working OK now.
    Thanks and best wishes from a pleasant Autumn (Fall) day here in England - regards Bert

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slow copying betweem SATA HD's

    Hey, good fer you! Congratulations and I learned from this experience too it seems. My Dell has only two SATA connectors and I plan to buy a second larger drive to plug in when Vista goes into production so I can dual boot this machine and keep XP around as well as Vista. Continued good luck...
    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •