Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I've been getting this "problem" when I scan with Spybot and wondered if it's safe or adviseable to ask Spybot to correct it or to perhaps go in and edit the registry. I checked my ZoneAlarm programs list and Windows Explorer is on there (not from my doing) and has both Trusted Zone and Internet access. When I attempt to change this to Block I get a warning that "Applying custom settings to System Programs may cause serious problems......".

    Thoughts ????
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    If I read Windows.Explorer FP in beta.sbi 6 January 2006? - Safer Networking Forums (with comments by the person who added this check to Spybot) correctly, it is most probably not serious. You could tell Spybot to ignore this problem in the future.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Doc,
    It seems I also saw this a while back in one of my scans. I forget just what it was all about but I ended up in putting it in the "Ignore" list. No harm done.

    When you initially set up ZA, it asks you if you want the WIndows programs like IE, OE, WE to be allowed in the programs list automatically. You may have checked this ( as I did ) and there it is.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I'm glad you made this post, Doc, for you reminded me that I've not yet done my October scan, so I ran AdAware and Spybot as I usually do. I didn't get the alert that you did but I was surprised at the list of stuff that had YESTERDAY dates on them (see attached). A small footnote that I think has been mentioned by others in the past: I snapped this screenshot while the updates were downloading and when it got to the very last one, I got a "checksum" error. I had to re-try that last entry three times before it correctly installed itself.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Al,
    I saw that rather big list too but updated all OK.
    It may be what download site you use to get them. I have good luck with TDS (USA) and Safer Networking 2 in Europe sites. I just try another site if I have a DL problem.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I think they have split the detection rules updates into smaller files. In the past, there used to be only a single Detection Rules update file. This will probably make for smaller update files in the future.

    *searches*

    Indeed, the Spybot home page has this news dated October 13:
    <hr>Also, beginning next week, the size of the weekly update files will be reduced as we're optimizing the process of downloading only changes. As a result of this, users using the advanced mode in Spybot-S&D will probably notice additional filesets; those ending in the letter C are new ones containing the most up-to-date detection rules.<hr>
    (See News - The home of Spybot-S&D!)

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Thanks for the link, Hans. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I was pretty sure that it was safe to ignore. But I got a "Spybot is setting a Restore Point" window the first time I tried to tell it to ignore this and the system hung there. So I figured I'd better ask somebody. I ran Spybot again after reading the thread on your link and there was no problem (or restore point set) this time. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I'll have to check that out next time, Bob. I don't usually do anything specific to select sites. I just tell the program to update and go from there. Maybe I need to be more selective in where I get the updates from.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Bob,

    You're correct about putting it on the ignore list. (see my previous post to Hans)

    I've been using ZA for so long, I don't have a clue what it asked me when I set it up, but I know I just let it do it's thing when I updated it last, so I suppose that's where that entry in the Program Control list came from.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I downloaded that list today before I ran my scan and had no problems. Like Bob, I use TDS (USA) and Safer Networking 2 in Europe exclusively for my Spybot downloads. All the other seem to give the checksum error.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I'm sorry for my ignorance on this, but you and Bob both do the same thing, but I don't understand if you do it from within Spybot or not. All I see is a button to search for updates, but nowhere to choose which site(s) to use. Do you do the updating outside of Spybot?

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    The button to choose the site is the one to the right of search for updates (saying TDS (USA)) in my example below, with a little arrow to select others.

    Ian

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Ian beat me to the post. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    Thank you, thank you. I never paid any attention to THAT button, but you can bet I will in the future.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spybot Problem I don't Understand

    I occasionally find that I get a bad download from one site (giving me a bad checksum) and all is well if I choose another. Which one is preselected seems to be a bit random.

    Ian

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •