Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Constantly Running Hard Drive

    I have gone into MSConfig and turned everything off in the StartUP that does not have to be running, yet my hard drive constantly runs...
    I have a 850 Mz hard drive with 128 mg. ram, and only 1/2 the 20 G hard drive is being used. I look at the resource meter, and everything seems ok. I am running Windows ME. I took Office XP off, because I thought that THAT might be constantly sending signals to Microsoft like antenne or something (hehe), but its still running, the light never goes off, and nothing on desktop, cleaned temps, scanned disk and defragged....any one have suggestions for a constantly running hard drive???
    Thank so much <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    You stated "does not have to be running" but did NOT tell use what you did leave <img src=/S/fire.gif border=0 alt=fire width=15 height=15> running.
    Some of these "Required" items are the guilty party <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    Dave,
    Sorry. OK...the last trip into MsConfig and I turned "Everything" off and upon reboot, it still runs...I have lots of Memory, nothing is running, I disable Norton Virus checker off, I turn Goback of, my system tray is also empty of everything except my clock...computer runs fine with everything off, but the hard drive light stays ACTIVE constantly...Is there anything I can check other then MSConfig to see whats causing the constant activity? Appreciate your help, I even removed Office XP for thought it might be the culprit...Nope!!! Thanks for helping me Dave... <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    Now provide this list of items that are listed in "Task Manager".
    You can get there by doing a 'Single "Ctrl-Alt-Delete".

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    zeus
    Guest

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    Been watching this one as I have no clue.

    I have had a similar issue where the CD
    drive activated the light.

    There is a faint chance that a DMA setting or
    IRQ setting triggers the HD light, I would check
    the system settings in control panel for conflicts?

    Just guessing, is an odd one.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    Two possibilities spring to mind :

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Constantly Running Hard Drive

    <img src=/S/rose.gif border=0 alt=rose width=15 height=15> Thank you for everyones great advice. I do really appreciate it. Just wanted to update you since I first asked the question here...Never found out what it was. It wasn't anything in the msconfig, or the taskman...no faulty wiring cables or etc...that we could see. Did a Format, <img src=/S/toilet.gif border=0 alt=toilet width=24 height=26>and reloaded Windows ME, and everything is hunky dory...just had wanted to try anything possible before the doing the format...Doesn't hurt to wipe it clean away and start fresh now and then...Least the light ain't blinking, no' more!!! Thanks all!!!! <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23> hehe but, not until I tried anyhow....Nannette
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •