Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Guess I'm a glutton for punishment <img src=/S/bif.gif border=0 alt=bif width=70 height=28>
    I've just upgraded from Version 9.0 to 10.0 and had a few challenges in the upgrade.
    Attempt 1 - Ran the install file downloaded 100+ mb
    Install barfed towards the end of the install reversing everything it did and reported that the install was interrupted and could not continue - no reason.
    Attempt 2 - Disabled my firewall and repeated attempt 1.
    Results - same as attempt 1.
    Attempt 2 - Disabled my AVG Anti-Virus software.
    Results - finally installed - surprised they finally fixed that gosh darn aggravation of having to place your old serial number as well as the new serial number <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    For my second challenge, went online and wanted to Register Version 10.0 - their website reported that the serial number I was given - moments ago via Digital River - had already been registered <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>
    Suprise - if it was registered, it didn't appear under my login - Support ticket sent - still waiting.. Will report back when <img src=/S/oink.gif border=0 alt=oink width=15 height=15> 's fly.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Bob, the other one,

    Now Robert, Acronis will get back to you with an answer to your reg problem.

    As to the other install attempts, I think you would have been better off uninstalling the Version 9 first and then installing V 10.
    This version 10 has a lot more to it than V9 and the install over the old one was probably the problem.
    When I installed V10 beta first release, I uninstalled V9 and all went good from there along with subsequent installs of other builds and RC1.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Hi Bob,
    I know that Acronis will 'eventually' get back to me on the reg problem, but I don't agree with you on uninstalling version 9.0 before installing version 10.0. As quoted from the Acronis web site:
    <hr> Frequently asked questions about
    Acronis True Image 10.0 Home
    Do I need to uninstall the existing version of Acronis True Image prior to installing the latest update?

    No, this is not required. You can install the latest update for Acronis True Image 10.0 Home over the existing version. To do this, run the installation program and select the "Repair/Upgrade Acronis True Image" option. <hr>
    Besides, I bought the upgrade, not the full version. So how would that have worked if I uninstalled 9.0 first?
    Don't get me wrong Bob, I do still like True Image - the software - it is awesome at what it does. I am just loosing faith in Acronis' ability to program upgrades and implement them effectively. I've been with True Image since version 6.0, and I don't recall one (1) update/upgrade that didn't required some form of creative workaround or several updates to the upgrade.
    In the meantime, the <img src=/S/oink.gif border=0 alt=oink width=15 height=15>'s haven't flown yet <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Bob,
    -----------------------------
    I bought the upgrade, not the full version
    ----------------------------
    Ok, that makes more sense. I got the new full versions with the betas and RC1, along with new reg numbers.
    I guess you are just one of those "lucky" guys who have a configuration that does a hiccup when TI is installed or modified?
    I don't recall ANY install problems, also going back to V 6 or 7, whatever they were.
    What was that just flew by the window? It was a <img src=/S/oink.gif border=0 alt=oink width=15 height=15> And it was whistling too. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    The majority of my problems in my upgrades were minor - such as having to input both the upgraded serial number as well as the upgradee serial numbers. If you're upgrading a software, you should not have to input the serial number of the previous version - The upgrade 'should' be able to sniff out the required software.
    <hr>What was that just flew by the window? It was a oink And it was whistling too. grin <hr>
    Must have been somebody else's trouble ticket, that <img src=/S/oink.gif border=0 alt=oink width=15 height=15> was flying SOUTH, gotta head NORTH to come up my way <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    I'm still trying to figure out if I <big>NEED</big> Version 10 or not! As everyone knows, I also am a big fan of TrueImage, but these $30 upgrades two or three times a year are beginning to get under my skin. The announcement email I got didn't say a single thing that really made me think I need this new version, so I'm still marking time... {tick, tick, tick}

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    I went to the Acronis site and tried to find a Version 9 vs. Version 10 comparison and this is the best I can come up with. Sounds like marketing schmaltz to me and I think I'll wait awhile.
    <hr> * Supports Microsoft Vista
    * Backup your music, video, and photos
    * Outlook backup
    * Application protection
    * Quick backup of specific files
    * Restore application settings
    * Explore backups
    * Create Backup rules
    * Email notifications
    * Save to FTP <hr>

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Comparing the TO v 9 and V10 user guide's, there's little to justify an upgrade to v 10.

    However, v 10 does claim to support Vista, so, I'd stick with 9 for pre-Vista, and if one wishes, use TI 10 with Vista.

    Of course, if you would want to move non-OS files from a TI 10 system, you'd either have to restore them to a USB drive, which you could then hook up to the TI 9 sysyem, or you could "upgrade" to TI 10 on the TI 9 system.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Well, not knowing the specifics of the following 3 features:

    - Outlook backup
    - Application protection
    - Restore application settings

    IF they do what at first glance they might do, they would definitely be worth upgrading for. However, until I know what they actually do, I am reluctant to endorse this new version, albeit being Vista compatible is a definite plus. Oh... I am not aware that Acronis has had 3 full upgrades in the last year or during any calendar year..... might that be what is endearingly known as "hyperbole"? <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    <hr>...endearingly known as "hyperbole"?... <hr>
    Ahhh, you're right, Jeff! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    I guess I was venting, mostly because of all the "dot upgrades" during every release. I looked in MY purchase receipts and the dates for version 8, 9, and now 10 were just about a year apart. I guess I don't view the items you're keeping an eye on important 'cause (for example) I always run a full image and on those occasions where I've had problems with an "application" I restore the required files by mounting the latest image. Of course, that presumes that you KNOW what files are needed. Recently I had trouble with my Palm and its Desktop application. I mounted my backup and restored only the Palm files to get its functionality back.

    Certainly I wasn't meaning to bad-mouth TI as you all know how dedicated a user I am. And even as I think about it, $30 ain't so bad in the grand scheme of things. I guess I've "slept on it," huh? But I'm still not gonna spring for it, just yet.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Hey, Big Al....

    Here's the deal with those items which I listed as being potentially valuable to me personally. Should you ever have the occasion to replace an ailing PC with another, that "Full" backup image you are relying upon to save you is going to be next to worthless if any of the files you need are in the "Documents and Settingsusername" folder. That section of the backup image is only accessible when it is mounted with the exact same machine from which it came...... get it? <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> However, should these features in TI 10 do what they appear to do, then such files as the "outlook.pst", etc., would be accessible since they are not embedded/connected with the "Full" backup image via another machine. I discovered the inaccessibility of these valuable files the hard way. Fortunately, I also had the wherewithal to save the entire "Documents and Settings" folder and the "outlook.pst" separately by copying it directly from C: to an external USB drive. So, the lesson to be learned, hopefully BEFORE it actually happens is that the individual files within ".tib" files are not globally accessible, but rather only 100% accessible via the original machine that created them.

    Like most here, I'm holding off until the "dust" settles and reliable reports start coming in on version 10's reliability, dependability and bugs. I say "reliable" in an attempt to distinguish the typical TI bashing which one often reads which most often are voiced by individuals who have typically so "tweaked" and messed up their computers that most anything new would produce errors from those which are rational, objective and seek to help. <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Whoa, Nellie! This needs some more explanation, Jeff. I think we need to distinguish the difference between what TrueImage will do separately from what problems may be brought about by Windows security and hardware "discrimination." As I know it, TrueImage and other imaging products couldn't care less about the hard drive upon which you restore files to. Whether you do a full restore of an image or individual and selected files, TrueImage will bring the files to the hardware you specify. For example, I run a macro program called Quickeys which stores its settings in the Documents and Settings folder. I have done selected file restore of those settings from my "old" PIII machine image (WinXP Pro SP2) to a temp directory on this Dell and them copied them to the final Documents and Settings folder quite successfully. This is not the only example I could give you from earlier in the year when I bought this new machine.

    On the other hand, I've done image restores from an image created on one machine (master images) to a machine of completely different hardware and had WINDOWS blow a cork, but mostly about drivers and such. In the age of WinXP and its inherent security, that might pose new problems, but I don't think they would be borne of TrueImage doing, would they?

    Please understand Jeff, that I'm not trying to argue with you here. I just want to distinguish the nature of the problem you describe as it relates to TrueImage and its features, as opposed to Windows and its finicky and sometimes cantankerous nature. Outlook is probably a classic example of a program that is difficult to administer and that's one of the reasons I no longer use it. Let's keep talking, OK?

    And if you can be the "point man" and watch the web about those "new" TI features, I'd love to hear whatever you spot. Keep the faith...

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Okay..... let me try and correct any misunderstanding I might have created with my previous comments. <img src=/S/stupidme.gif border=0 alt=stupidme width=30 height=30>

    You CANNOT restore an image created on one machine to a totally different machine that has a different motherboard, for example. Thus, in the example I used, knowing that the backup image created on one machine cannot be used to do a complete restore of that image to another totally different machine, one might desire to at least copy over "data", e.g., an "outlook.pst" file, "Favorites" folder, etc. The problem is with the limitations of True Image and perhaps Windows, i.e., those files located within a user account (Documents and Settingsxxxx) are NOT accessible from the new machine from within a TI backup file, i.e., mounting the image on the new machine. After trying everything I knew for several hours trying to do exactly this, I asked Acronis if this could be done and their reply was a solid, "NO!.... cannot be done." Folders/files in that particular location can ONLY be read from the machine which originally created the backup image. Thus, if the motherboard or some other major hardware component on the original machine goes bad, which was what happened in my case and the data you want is located in "Documents and Settings", will not be accessible on the new machine after Windows is installed, etc.

    Sooooo, going back to the new features of True Image 10..... again openly admitting I know virtually nothing about them other than what the title of the features themselves might imply, IF they actually backup individual folders and/or files, eg., an "outlook.pst" file and then can be accessible from ANY machine, they would then indeed be most valuable when situations as described above exist.

    I hope I have not cleared up any unfortunate misunderstanding you may have come to due to my lack of clarity. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Jeff,
    I think that's exactly the issues that V 10 is now addressing.
    By being able to back up and restore certain folders, like Outlook or Email and address book files, it should give you the capability to get them back even with a different MB or other catastrophic failures.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image Home 10.0 Challenges

    Bob,

    Thanks for confirming at least that much. Again, for me personally, on that feature alone, having gone through the aggravation of a recent experience as described, True Image 10 would be something I would definitely consider upgrading to. But, although I have a great affection and respect for Acronis' products, given the rough start TI 9 had, which I am currently using, I will most likely hold off a bit to see how things go with version 10. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •