Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    When I click on the internet explorer icon, it opens up internet explorer, but the opening window is small and I have to maximize it before I can use it. Is there a way to fix it so I don't have to mazimize the window before I can use it? Thank you in advance to anyone who can give me some guidance. thanks, John

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    Drag it to a size that you want, DO NOT maximize it, and then do a "File, Exit" and it should the remember the dragged size.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    Internet Explorer doesn't remember that you want it maximized. It does remember window size, however. So do the following:
    - Close all Internet Explorer windows except one.
    - If this window is maximized, restore it.
    - Drag the edges of the window so that it is as large as possible, so that the windows is effectively maximized without being really maximized.
    - Close the window.
    If you have a shortcut to Internet Explorer in your Quick Launch toolbar, right-click the shortcut and select Properties. Select Maximized in the Run property.

    Unfortunately, some links on websites open an IE window with a specific size. If you don't watch out, that will become the new default size, forcing you to repeat the above. <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    Thank you to both of you for the assistance....John

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    > It does remember window size, however. So do the following:

    Thank YOU!
    (I'm stuck at a locked-down site and instead of FireFox I HAVE to use IE - It's slowly killing me ......)

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Opening Window IE6 (IE6)

    <hr> and instead of FireFox I HAVE to use IE - It's slowly killing me ......<hr>
    Unfortunately, Mozilla isn't supporting FF2 anymore. I just downloaded FF 3, and it chased me back to IE, although I plan to have a look at Opera. I tried Chrome, and wasn't much impressed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •