Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Power Supply?

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Power Supply?

    My computer has been simply turning completly off every few days unexpectedly. Usually overnight. If I unplug the PC from the outlet and wait a few minutes and turn it on, it's OK. Sometimes it will load up, then turn off again. Then it will be fine for a few days. This morning I couldn't get it to come back on again. When I plug it into the wall and push the power button I see lights on the front start to blink for a second, but it never starts, no fan or anything. I had to just leave it and go to work today.

    Is this the power supply? I thought that generally the power supplies will just die without warning.

    --KZ

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    Sounds a bit like it.....we had a bad batch sent through with a large order last year and same old symptoms, sudden shut down or the lights were on, but nobody was at home. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    Thanks. This is an older computer. I think I had already replaced the power supply about a year ago.

    I didn't think that they would come and go like that. I heard that they just die without coming back at all. Is that not the case?

    --KZ

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    Difficult to say....different horses, different courses. Yes, I have seen catastrophic failure, does it have an internal fuse?
    Jerry

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    Fuse? Hmmm, I don't think so. If it was a fuse, then it wouldn't be coming back on. I'll almost bet that when I get home this evening that it will turn back on again and work for a few days. Just wasn't sure if that was the MO for power supplies or not.

    --KZ

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    whoops...ignore the fuse bit <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    Besides the power supply, you could also have a "thermal" problem with an overheating component.

    It's a hard one to pin down but you could first try opening up the box and making sure all of the system fans are running. If so you could unplug all but the most necessary add on cards you may have installed. Run it for a while, see how it reacts.

    You could also go into the BIOS after it goes off and see if it reports a high temperature reading. I'm not sure if the older BIOS will give you those readings or not.

    Of course, substituting for the PS is the best test for a flaky PS. Defective supplies will sometimes go erratic for a spell and not necessarily die out completely. They will eventually go completely out.
    If you DO feel it's the PS, make sure you get a replacement that has plenty of capacity to handle all of your components. 350 to 400 watts or better .
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    Thanks. I'll check that out tonight. I do have a CD-ROM and a DVD burner, not a lot of other cards really.

    Not sure if that BIOS reports high temps or not.

    Maybe I should add an extra fan while I've got it open.

    I'll check into replacing the PS first. Maybe an upgrade while I'm at it. They're not too expensive.

    --Ken

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    When I got home, after cooling all day, it still didn't come on. The CPU and box box both start to come on, so most likely they had been running. The PS unit doesn't even attempt to come on. So, I'm going to assume it's the PS. It had a 250 in it. You think I should move up?

    --KZ

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    A 250 is kinda "wimpy" especially if you have some extras installed.

    Go for at LEAST 350 watts or MORE.
    I run a 600 watt PS with lots of breathing room.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    Ok, thanks!

    --KZ

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Power Supply?

    I went from a 250 to a 480 and while I had the patient on the table I added some more RAM.

    The PS was it. Thanks for all your help everyone! <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Power Supply?

    You are very welcome.
    Your system should be flying along now! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/sailing.gif border=0 alt=sailing width=25 height=25>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •